Random talk

There has been a while since I just stopped for a second and tell you what I have been doing recently. Last 2 months have been extremely busy for me and you can see that by how much I have posted on this blog. So, I thought about writing a random small life update.

First and most time consuming and important thing: I moved to another city. You might say that this not such a big deal, but believe me it took us around 3-4 months to do this. When I first came to Scotland, I came for University of Aberdeen and I staid here for almost 6 years. This city is important to me and I have so many great memories for it, but it was time for a change and a move. So, we decided to move to Edinburgh. To be fair, it was very hard for me and my husband to take this decision, but in the end I think we did the right thing. Probably you don’t want to know extra details about the move, but if you ever moved from one city to another (or even from one home to another) you will surely understand the hustle and problems this might cause. Here are a couple of photos I took from Edinburgh so far:

Second part, which is closely related to the first part: I have a new job. Don’t worry, I am still a maths teacher, but it is a completely different school. It was really sad and difficult for me to tell all my pupils that they are not going to see me after the summer holiday. Also, telling my colleagues was hard too and I still feel emotional sometimes when I think about it. Don’t get me wrong, I am excited for the next school, but it has been a little bit harder to say “Good bye!” to all of the lovely people I worked with, or I taught.

Third part: my extra LThMaths projects. Yes, yes… I am crazy. In a period like this, I have decided to take on board another 3 (maybe 4) extra projects. Unfortunately, I cannot talk about all of them yet, but I am extremely excited for all of them. One of the projects already appeared on this blog: Inforgraphics. I started doing this because I could not find something similar on the internet and I wished I could have some to show my pupils in class. So far, I have just 3 (Famous Quotes by Albert Einstein, A Brief History of Protractors, Blaise Pascal) but many are coming in the future. If you have any ideas just let me know. About the second project, I haven’t talked much yet. I have started in on an app called Lettrs. You can follow me there @LThMathematics. The app gives you the possibility to write letters to anyone in the world. They also have an option to write open letters, which anyone can read, and I have done just that in the last months. The letters are all about my journey to become a teacher and how I decided to do this. If you don’t want to sign up on this app/website to read the letters you can also find them on Instagram at @lthmath. If you want me to write a separate blog post on these letters let me know in the comment box bellow.

Hope you enjoy this short random post. Let me know what you’ve been up to in the past months. Have a great day. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter   and  Instagram. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Lots of love and don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

