A New Book Released

I have been using KenKen Puzzles for almost a year. I discovered the website back in July/August last year and I got very excited by their puzzles. For those of that do not know, this puzzle is a grid-based numerical puzzle that uses the basic math operations—addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division—while also challenging your logic and problem-solving skills. It was acclaimed Japanese mathematics instructor Tetsuya Miyamoto. His goal was to improve his students’ math and logic skills.

I had used it in class a couple of times and the pupils love it. I mostly use it at the start of the lesson or in the end if someone finished to quickly the activity and there is no point to start something else. Besides this, I had been playing the games regularly myself and they are great. It is still a new discovery for me and kind of took the place of Sudoku for a couple of months.

Therefore, you can imagine how excited I was when I found out they released 3 new books:

  1. KenKen No-Ops: Nasty 9x9s and More. This book offers puzzles where the operations are not provided; you need to solve for these as you go! This book contains 100 tantalizing 7×7, 8×8, and mostly 9×9 No-Op puzzles. It sounds very challenging and that makes me very excited and intrigued. 

  2. KenKen No-Ops: Sneaky 6x6s and More. This second book is very similar to the previous one, but the grids are way smaller (4×4, 5×5, and mostly 6×6). At a first look, it seems that this one should a first try and then I should advance to the 9x9s ones. 

  3. And the last release: The KenKen Starter Book: 3x3s and More! This books seems perfect for beginners and those just discovering the wonders of KenKen. There are over 200 puzzles with 4×4 and mostly 3×3 grids.

KenKen

If you are not very sure about this puzzles, you can sign up for their weekly free email or check some of their puzzles directly on their website. I think they are a great discovery and hope you will like them as much as I do. If you leave in US, you could also participate in KenKen competitions.

Also, they have created apps with this game and you can find them anywhere: Google Play, iTunes and Amazon.

If you have used these puzzles before, or if you play them let me know what you think about them. Have a great day. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter   and  Instagram. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Lots of love and don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

