Sunday Reading

If you are reading this blog for a while, or follow me on my Facebook page you probably know that I am a huge Science-Fiction fan. These books are my favourite ever and every time I feel down or I need more inspiration, I start reading a science-fiction book.

Recently, I have started reading The Darkness on Diamondia by A.E. Van Vogt. I haven’t read many of his books, but I also found them quite interesting. Also, I never got bored while reading any of them. I am not going to go into a big description of the book, but here is the short description from the back:

Colonel Morton was sent to Diamondia to report on the war between Earth-descended colonists and the guerrilla warriors of the inhuman Irsk. Because something was going terribly wrong – a darkness was setting in, mental confusion was epidemic, and there was evidence of Outside interference.

What I like about the book is how society is using some sort of specific logic to work. I don’t want to give too many details because I will spoil it. Through all the descriptions of this new type of logic, there is also a short (but interesting) mention of mathematics:

Morton shook his head. It was not the moment for a lecture on the history of the development of logic. So all he said was, ‘It’s a term that has to do with the difference between a mathematical logic system and the facts of nature. In mathematics they have the concept of “set”: a collection of similar objects which are mathematically treated as duplicates. In nature there are no duplicates. The difference between the members of a set is best illustrated by conceiving of a set of Diamondians.’ (p. 50)

Hope I made you a little curious about this book. Let me know if you have read any other books by this author. Or if you have any other great Science-Fiction recommendations.

Hope you enjoyed this type of post. Let me know if you would like to see more of this. In the past month, I have been working a lot for my free online course on Modern Mathematics and another future project, which I cannot say much yet. Hopefully I can tell you more about it soon. Have a great day. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter   and  Instagram. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Lots of love and don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

