1/4 of 2017 Favorites

I haven’t done a monthly favorites in a very long time. Instead of doing a monthly one, I thought about doing a quarter of the year one. In case you want to check some of my old monthly favorites, you can search through my Month’s Favorites category.

extra favorites

1. Favorite Quote. I have found lots of great quotes from the beginning of the year and I think all of them have a different flavour and  gives a different perspective over what people think mathematics represents. I have also done a list of quotes on mathematics by Einstein, which I think is one of my favorite list so far. But, my favorite one by far was a quote by Mickey Hart. It shows the connection mathematics and other sciences have on simple everyday things we all enjoy (music in his case). I wish more people could talk about this connection and how it made them feel when they discovered it.

I hated science in high school. Technology? Engineering? Math? Why would I ever need this? Little did I realize that music was also about science, technology, engineering and mathematics, all rolled into one. (Mickey Hart)

2. Favorite Book. I have made a promise to myself at the beginning of the year that I will read more books about mathematicians this year. I am at a stage in my life when I just need to discover more about myself and what I should do with my life in the future. Therefor, I thought I will search for some answers through the lives of mathematicians. If you want to find out more about what I plan on reading or have read, which is related to mathematics, you can follow me on Goodreads. So far my favorite book has to be Fermat’s Last Theorem by Simon Singh. If you want to read my review on it, you can check Reading “Fermat’s Last Theorem”.

17499713_10212517004340303_1467684310_o

3. Favorite Movie. I have to mention this movie because I absolutely loved it and it has to be on my favorite list 100%. With no other introduction: Hidden Figures. It is about the struggle of African-American people in USA in 1960s, especially of African-American women. More importantly for me, it is about the struggle of women in STEM, especially mathematics and engineering. In case you want to find out more you can check my post First Impression of the movie Hidden Figures.

4. Favorite Art. I am a huge fan Escher for ages (you can see that by the many related post I have written about his art). So, you can imagine how excited I was when I saw someone did sculptures inspired by his work. Thus, here is Andreas von Zadora-Gerlof, one of the world’s foremost gem stone artist (otherwise known as gylyptics). He created Zadora, an artistic foundation. I was very happy to see that he has done a collection based on Escher’s pieces. You can read more about his work on my post Zadora and Escher. Images from the official website:

5. Personal Favorite. On this section I wanted to mention a Kickstarter project I have recently talked about: Trido – Magnetic Toys. I totally love their idea and I wish they could make a school related set which I could use with my pupils. Anyway, give it some love on Kickstarter. Image from the official website:

These are all my favorites for the first quarter of the year. Hope you enjoyed this type of post. Let me know if you would like to see more of this. In the past month, I have been working a lot for my free online course on Modern Mathematics and another future project, which I cannot say much yet. Hopefully I can tell you more about it soon. Have a great day. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter   and  Instagram. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Lots of love and don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

