First Impression of the movie Hidden Figures

This morning 10:30 am I decided to finally go and see the movie Hidden Figures. Last week I had it as my Sunday movie recommendation and I was extremely curious to see it. Now, 30 minutes after watching it, I thought I will shortly give you my first impression(s).

Firstly, I need to say I am no movie critic and that I am a fan of inspirational type movies. Therefore, when I first heard about this movie (thanks to one of my old university teachers) I knew I have to see it. I was right, this is one of the best inspirational movies I have seen lately. It tackles a lot of social and scientific issues. It is about the struggle of African-American people in USA in 1960s, especially of African-American women. More importantly for me, it is about the struggle of women in STEM, especially mathematics and engineering.

The three mathematicimagesians Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, and Katherine Johnson crossed all gender, race, and professional lines with their brilliance and desire to dream big. They just made me realise how important it is to follow your dreams, to adapt and work harder and harder every day. The movie made me want to come home and start reading my old university notes on some of my favorite topics. It made me feel more confident that what ever I want to do, I can do it. Moreover, it shows how much one can do with a big dream, perseverance and mathematics.

I also want to share 3 quotes from my 3 favorite moments in the whole movie: when Karl Zielinsky tells Mary to become an engineer; when Katherine explains why black women mathematicians work at NASA and when director Al Harrison destroys the “colored toilet” sign.

Karl Zielinski: Mary, a person with an engineer’s mind should be an engineer. You can’t be a computer the rest of your life.

Mary Jackson: Mr. Zielinski, I’m a negro woman. I’m not gonna entertain the impossible.

Karl Zielinski: And I’m a Polish Jew whose parents died in a Nazi prison camp. Now I’m standing beneath a spaceship that’s going to carry an astronaut to the stars. I think we can say we are living the impossible.

Katherine Johnson: I will have you know, I was the first negro female student at West Virginia university graduate school. On any given day, I analyze the binomial levels air displacement, friction and velocity. And compute over ten thousand calculations by cosine, square root and lately analytic geometry. By hand. There are twenty, bright, highly capable negro women in the west computing group, and we’re proud to be doing our part for the country. So yes, they let women do some things at NASA, Mr. Johnson. And it’s not because we wear skirts. It’s because we wear glasses. Have a good day.

Al Harrison: Here at NASA we all pee the same color.

I totally recommend you all go to this movie. Take your children, grandchildren and go to see it. Most importantly, take the girls to see it.

Next step for me: read Hidden Figures: The Untold Story of the African American Women Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly.

Hope you liked this post and that you had a great weekend. Let me know if you would like to see similar ones. Feel free to comment bellow. Have a great day. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter   and  Instagram. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Lots of love and don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy!

One thought on “First Impression of the movie Hidden Figures

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

