My Last Shopping Day

I have never wrote a post like this, but I thought it is the right time to this because in the past month (especially during my October holiday) I have bought quite a lot of interesting maths related items, which I think you would be interested to know about. Expect a couple of books!!!

During my October holiday I have spent quite a lot of time in shops randomly. My idea was to start buying Christmas gifts because I believe I will not have much time in the next months, instead I bought a fair number of maths related items which I will try out soon.

1. 3D drawing pad by Science Museum. This is like some sort of set; it has drawing pads and blue and pink spectacles, which help you to see the things in 3D. The pad has pink and blue marks on it in order to give the 3D feeling when I put the spectacles on. I think it is quite fun, I will let you know more about this in a future post. I have found a similar product, if you are interested: NPW Science Museum 3D Drawing Pad.

14914948_10211134235171938_36344436_n

2. Book 1: Where Mathematics comes from – How the embodied mind brings mathematics into being by George Lakoff and Rafael E. Munez. At first glance it seemed like a great combination of mathematics and psychology, so I thought why not?! Quickly looking through the titles of the chapters, I got to Chapter 13: Continuity for Numbers: The Triumph of Dedekind’s Metaphors and I thought that I have not read some about Dedekind’s Cut method in a while and it seemed interesting. Anyone read the book? I would love to know your opinions about it. If you want to find out more, check Where Mathematics Come from: How the Embodied Mind Brings Mathematics into Being.

14962316_10211134213571398_224699768_n

3. Book 2: The Book of Numbers – The secrets of numbers and how they created our world by Peter J. Bently. After I read ZERO: The Biography of a Dangerous Idea by Charles Seife (read about my thoughts), I feel the need to read more books about the history of numbers in general and this one seemed to do the job. The description was quit interesting:

Numbers are at the heart of the existence of the universe and everything that is in it, and yet most of us have very little everyday understanding of the fundamentals of mathematics, let alone their part in philosophy, art, music, architecture, quantum mechanics, physics, computer technology, literature, biology, commerce, religion and the occult; indeed every discipline which has been and is the proper study of man.

14962281_10211134213371393_1145060730_n

4. Click Ornament – Vivi Gade 5.5 x 28.4 cm Paper Click Ornaments,Copenhagen DesignWell, this is the unexpected thing from this list. I have bought this set which teaches you how to do some interesting paper ornaments. The shape was the one that made me curious: it is some sort of a spherical object and I have absolutely no idea if it really has a name. The problem is that I am very convinced it has some great geometrical properties. Since I have bought this set and I made an ornament, I have it on my desk and I look at it every day trying to see if I am amble to find anything very interesting geometrically about it. I have to confess I have not done anything extremely interesting, but I am trying. What do you think? Any opinions, I would love to know them.

Hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know if you would like to read more similar ones. Have a great day.  You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter and Instagram. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy!

14087172_10210367160875560_1970545914_o

2 thoughts on “My Last Shopping Day

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

