October Holiday

Today is my last day of the October Holidays. Here, in Scotland, there is a school holiday for 2 weeks in October. Therefore, I want to share with you what I did and how I relaxed (or tried to) during this holiday.

1. Visit many things. I have been living in this city for more than 5 years, but I have discovered that there are still many things I haven’t seen yet. Therefore, I have decided to visit 2 museums for this holiday.

The first one is the Zoology Museum and the small Botanic Garden close to it. I have to confess that I am not a big fan of stuffed dead animals, but I have learnt a lot about different species from this museum. Also, I have seen some beautiful butterflies (one of my favorite beings). Since I have discovered that butterflies are not killed to be stored, but that they take the dead bodies after their short lives, I feel better at this type of exhibitions. Also, I quite enjoyed and found fascinating all those skeletons on display. Moreover, if you are a mathematician and do not love corals (a fractal hint in there), seashells ( golden ratio hint ) and starfish (symmetry hint) I do not believe you. Here are some images:

The next museum was the Maritime Museum. I find it quite fascinating to read sea stories and to find more about the technology behind all of this. I confess I am quite scared of deep water in general and I find very interesting all the techniques to make things float on it. Because in the city the oil industry is still big, there are many things about this and also a little about renewable energy. Here are some images:

2. Reading is the best. I am a big book worm and I totally love reading, I don’t think I could live without books. So, this holiday I have decided to read the latest book by one of my favorite authors: The Sixth Watch: (Night Watch 6) by Sergei Lukyanenko. This is the sixth book from the Night Watch series and I loved it. Here is a small description:

They live among us. They fight among us. They are the Others, a supernatural race of magicians, witches, shape-shifters, vampires, and healers. Divided into the Light and the Dark, these rival factions have spent a millennium under a reluctant truce. Now, however, both sides must unite against the ultimate enemy.

Even though the description sounds like something not very new, I can assure you that it is way more intricate and interesting than it looks. To make it more interesting, let me just tell you that Light doesn’t meat Good and Dark doesn’t mean Bad.

 3. Video games are relaxing. I have not said anything about this previously on this blog, but I quite enjoy video games. I am not very good at it, but I can get stuck with a game for months until I move to another one. I will not go into much detail, but the one I have been playing a lot in the last months (and a lot this holiday) is StarCraft II.

og-sc2-legacy-of-the-void

4. More movies at the cinema. I did go more often to the cinema these 2 weeks and I kind of feel bad that I did not find more time to do this doing term time, but I am working on changing this. I have seen 3 movies and as obviously I have mixed feelings, but I will put them in order of preference: Deepwater Horizon (it is fast pacing, interesting and made me want to find out even more about the accident – I totally recommend it), The Magnificent Seven ( it was an old time good western and Denzel Washington is the best – a good movie to watch if you want to relax a little and especially if you are a western fan), Inferno (I have to confess I was not really impressed by it unfortunately, I have read the book a while ago and quite liked it, but the movie was not as good as I expected).

Hope you had a great weekend and if you have any book and movie recommendations of any type let me know in the comment box bellow. I would love to know about it. Also, what is your favorite relaxing activity for holiday? You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter and  Instagram. I will try to post there as often as possible.

One thought on “October Holiday

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

