One Day in Stirling

Yesterday I was at my first Mathematical Association Secondary Education One-Day Conference at University of Stirling and it was a great experience. In this post I will make a short description of what I did there with further posts about the maths in the following 2 weeks. Enjoy!

First I have to say that this was the first time I went to Stirling and even though I stayed just for a couple of hours there, it impressed me. I really like it.

The conference started with a normal registration and coffee slot at 9:00 am and continued with an open lecture about what teacher could learn from the pupils presented by Jenny Golding. It was an interesting lecture with great examples of maths activities that could be used in the classroom and some quite interesting reactions and question from children. Next, the conference offered the opportunity to chose 4 workshops for the rest of the day.

For the first workshop I have chosen “Using the Singapore Bar in High Schools” by Andrew Jeffrey, where we got the opportunity to see how Singapore students are thought to bar model to solve increasingly complex problems, such as ratio, percentage change, simultaneous equations and more. The presenter offered some interesting tips and I cannot wait to try some out in my lessons. Also, he started with an interesting puzzle. Take a look and let me know what you think (U/D = up/down & L/R = left/right):

14215737_10210515703949044_103423016_o

Next on my list was “Further Rigour and Recreation” by Clive Chambers, where I have found out even more interesting historical facts about Pi. We also discussed about different ways to solve a problem in order to asses different topics. We ended the workshop with 3 puzzles to solve during lunch. I still need to solve one of them and I became a little obsessed with it.

First workshop after lunch break (lunch break = the perfect time to buy books) was “Taxi-Cab Geometry” by Tom Roper. I really needed something like this to remind me of my university days (metric space) and also to remind me that I should continue doing more higher maths. The workshop explored the way the world looks using the taxi-cab metric and gave us extra resources for further exploration.

The last workshop was “AM Approximate Countdown” by Chris Smith. I really wanted to see one of his workshops because I heard it is quite fun and presents interesting concepts that not everyone knows about. I wasn’t disappointed, it made me laugh and made me feel more enthusiast about my future lessons.

14182623_10210517044382554_1053845313_n

It was great fun and I cannot wait to go to more Conferences during the year. In the future next 2 weeks I will write more posts about the workshops and what I have learnt from them.

Hope you enjoyed this post and that you are excited for the future ones. Have a great week.  You can find me on Facebook,TumblrGoogle+Twitter  and Instagram. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! 

14087172_10210367160875560_1970545914_o

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

