Visiting Egypt like a Mathematician

I am trying something a little different for this travel related blog post. I have never presented a country in a post like this, but I think this will be mighty exciting. With no further introduction let us start the post:

Ancient Egypt has a long history of mathematical concepts and great mathematicians. It is one of those ancient civilizations that influenced maths a lot. There are evidence that they were doing mathematics as early as 3000 BC, so you can imagine how big and important is their influence on maths. But I will not write much about the historical part of this story – a separate post about this waits patiently as a draft – and go on to what a maths lover or mathematician should visit/see in Egypt.

The first thing on my list is – of course – The Giza Pyramid Complex. This is an archaeological site on the Giza Plateau, on the outskirts of Cairo, Egypt. This complex of ancient monuments includes the three pyramid complexes known as the Great Pyramids, the Great Sphinx, several cemeteries, a workers’ village and an industrial complex. The mathematics behind the construction of the pyramids is still very interesting. Moreover, there are still many theories behind the geometry and proportion of The Great Pyramid, built around 2500 BC. The article Phi, Pi and the Great Pyramid of Egypt at Giza explains a little more about some theories behind all this. It is quite interesting to observe that even nowadays – after so many years have passed and so much development in mathematics – there are still mysteries behind all this. On the same topic and with the same idea of mystery behind is The Sphinx, which can also be found the Complex mentioned above.

The next things on my list are the Mosques there. I don’t want to mention a specific one because I consider them all to have interesting geometric properties which are very interesting, especially when it comes to the domes and the interesting towers. Moreover the interior design of these building is incredible. You can easily observe interesting tessellation patterns, symmetry and interesting other geometric figures’ properties.

I know that this post is a little small then my other posts from this category, but this is the first time I am writing about something I have not seen with my own eyes. One of the places I want to visit in the near future to expand my vision about mathematics is Egypt. If you know of any other interesting places that should be mentioned in a post like this let me know. I would love to know more about this.

Thank you for your help and support, you are the best and I appreciate everything that you do. Have a great day.  You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath

One thought on “Visiting Egypt like a Mathematician

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

