What a Mathematician should visit in Glasgow

Summer and sunny days are finally here, maybe not much in Scotland but still. I thought that this summer I will post more of this type of blog posts. To continue the mini-series (see What a Mathematician should visit – project) I will start with a city from Scotland – Glasgow. Though this is not the city I live in, it is a great place to visit if you are into mathematics like myself.

The first on the list is the Glasgow Science Center due to their great amount of mathematical and logic puzzles. If you want to spend some time enjoying and solving some great puzzles that is the best places. Also, the Center has a lot of technology and science related things which are very interesting. What I like the most about the place is the fact that they use practical things to explain concepts (puzzles, interactive games, boards, 3D presentation and many more). Here are a couple of photos I have taken on my last visit there:

The next is the Scotland Street School Museum. This is about the history of the educational system in Scotland and of course it has some great mathematics inside. I was very excited to see some old maths school books. Moreover, it was very interesting to find out more about what methods they were using and also what parts of mathematics was more important in that time. Check their official website to find out more about the museum.

I consider that a mathematician should know a couple of things about the applications of mathematics in society in general. There are many applications and I believe that the Riverside Museum is a good example. This is considered the Transport Museum of Glasgow and it holds many interesting models of different types of transportation. They offer an interesting presentation of the history of transportation.

In the past I have written short posts about my visits to Glasgow: Winter Holiday and December Day in Glasgow. I am very excited for this summer and I think many interesting things are going to happen. Let me know if there is something you would like to see me write about.

Hope your enjoyed this post. Thank you for your help and support, you are the best and I appreciate everything that you do. Have a great day.  You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath

One thought on “What a Mathematician should visit in Glasgow

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

