Special Cake for the Last Day

I made it to the last day… Extra happy and excited for the future. This university year has been long and hard, but I am so happy I survived to the last day. It changed me a lot and I have learnt some many things (good and bad).

Of course in the last day someone came with fun idea, we are future maths teachers after all. She made a great lemon cake (she is the best!!!!), but decided to give it a mathematical touch especially because this will be our last day as students. She didn’t make it in the normal circular form, but a square with 21cm sides.

13324420_10209613777881456_1550823742_o

So far, so good. The question is how to cut the cake into 7 equal pieces and of course we didn’t want a boring solution to this. Therefore, we kind of omitted the easy solution from the start (after all, it is hard to eat such a piece of cake).

13349150_10209613917684951_207609960_nnjfy

After looking at the area of the shape and tried to split it even more we got to something a little more interesting. Can you figure out how we did this?

13349150_10209613917684951_207609960_nnjfyjloi765d

But, even though that kind of looked good it was not much fun. So, our great cook came with her idea of splitting the cake. She calculated the perimeter of the shape and split that into 7 and then all we had to do, was check if the shapes we got had the same area. To our surprise they did and so we ended up with great, fun, unconventional pieces.

What do you think about this? Can you find the area of each piece? Can you show that all of them have the same area? Those are a couple of questions I let you to think about. Also, if you know any other interesting ways to split the cake into 7 equal parts let me know, I would love to read about them.

Also, I wanted to let you know that I will be back to writing more blog posts in the next period. I am very excited for this summer and I think many interesting things are going to happen. Let me know if there is something you would like to see me write about.

Hope your enjoyed this post. Thank you for your help and support, you are the best and I appreciate everything that you do. Have a great day.  You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath

One thought on “Special Cake for the Last Day

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

