April Favorites

Last day of April today and it is the perfect day of a monthly favorites. This month has proven to be quite hard for me. From 18th I didn’t have internet at home and for the first time I realized how dependent I am on this thing. Absolutely everything I do is on the internet, but I guess it was not a completely bad thing because I got the opportunity to do more research and read more, which is always good, so I don’t complain completely. I have tried to post as normal on the other social platforms, but there were a couple I have neglected a little due to this and I am sorry for that. May will bring lots of things and hopefully the internet will be with me. But let us start the favorites:

1. Favorite quote: this month I was mostly looking back at some old quotes. I had the urge to look back and get inspiration from things I have done when I first started this project. So, for this month my favorite quote is one which influenced me a lot to start learning mathematics:

2. Favorite art: since I started writing more art related posts on Wednesdays I got even more excited about this part. As you already know I have been a huge fan of artists which make connections between mathematics and other things. Today I will remind you about the post Escher’s Mathematical Art. M. C. Escher was a Dutch graphic artist who made mathematically inspired woodcuts, lithographs and mezzotints. Earlier on his career he was inspired more by nature, such as insects, landscape, plants and lichens, but he has also done more architecture and townscapes. When he started to be inspired by architecture, his love for geometry and then mathematical structures appeared.

3. Favorite mathematician: this month I have not posted much about mathematicians (Leonhard Euler and Phoebe Sarah Hertha Ayrton), but I have to say that Phoebe Ayrton is my favorite. I have chosen her because she is a new discovery of mine and I find her life very interesting.

She attended Girton College, Cambridge where she studied mathematics. In 1880, Ayrton passed the Mathematical Tripos (the taught mathematics course in the Faculty of Mathematics at the University of Cambridge) but was not granted a degree because, at this time, Cambridge gave only certificates and not degrees to women. She successfully completed an external examination and received a B.Sc. degree from the University of London in 1881.

Upon her return to London, Ayrton earned money by teaching and embroidery. She put her mathematical skills to practical use – she taught at Notting Hill and Ealing High School, and was also active in devising and solving mathematical problems, many of which were published in “Mathematical Questions and Their Solutions” from the Educational Times. In 1884 Ayrton patented a line-divider, an engineering drawing instrument for dividing a line into any number of equal parts and for enlarging and reducing figures.The line-divider was her first major invention and, while its primary use was likely to be for artists for enlarging and diminishing, it was also useful to architects and engineers. Ayrton’s 1884 patent was the first of many – from 1884 until her death, Hertha registered 26 patents: five on mathematical dividers, 13 on arc lamps and electrodes, the rest on the propulsion of air. She was awarded the Hughes Medal by the Royal Society for her work on electric arcs and ripples in sand and water.

4. The most interesting thing of the month: in this category I have to put a gif, which someone has shared with me and I found very interesting. Also, after posting it on the page I had very interesting comments about it, so I will share some of those with the gif bellow:

According to a theorem devised by Gauss, it is impossible to project a sphere onto a plane, point by point. Technically, there’s no continuous and injective function that maps every point of the sphere to a distinct point on the plane – that’s why any representation of the terrestrial globe on a sheet of paper will result in a deformation. I’m still trying to figure out how they did the inverse transformation in this animation, from the circle to the sphere.

5. Favorite Kickstarter project: I think you already know that I have decided to write more about the mathematics related projects on Kickstarter and I wanted to post about a project which still has 18 days until it is finished: Mandelmap Poster. You can read more about it in my latest post A vintage style map of the Mandelbrot set, or check their Kickstarter page.

Hope you had a great April and that you are excited for May. Time is flying, but as long as you enjoy what you doing things will turn up fine. Thank you lots for your support. Have a great weekend.  You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

