What a Mathematician should visit – project

As you probably know already I am trying to get extra organized for the summer and I was wondering if you want to see something similar to the old posts: What a Mathematician should visit? I used to write these posts mostly 2 summers ago and I also made a short magazine about this: MathTravel. For this post I wanted to remind you about this project and see if you have any ideas for future posts.

New Skitchhty

What a Mathematician can see in London – was the first post on this topic and I wanted to present some of great sculptures which are related to mathematics and can be found in London. The post doesn’t cover all of them, but I think that a London tour to see all those things would go perfectly with other attractions London has.

What a Mathematician should visit in London – refers to museums and other places which can teach you a thing or two related to mathematics. I have chosen Greenwich, Science Museum and the Bank of England Museum. They might not be the only place, but I think should be a good pick if you want to see a little bit of applied mathematics at its best.

What a Mathematician should visit in Florence – is mostly about the beauty of architecture and art. You might be surprised to learn how much mathematics, specially geometry, you can find in architecture and art. From this point of view, Florence is one of the best places to see. In the post I have chosen to talk about: History of Science MuseumBrunelleschi’s dome and Michelangelo’s Works.

What a Mathematician should visit in Stuttgart – is again another post about things you can visit if you want to see more about applications of mathematics. These kind of places give you a great insight into the importance of mathematics to our technological society. The museums I have chosen are Kärcher Museum in Winnenden – takes you in the journey through the development of cleaning technology –  Radio Museum in Remseck, Stuttgart Tram World, Mercedes-Benz Museum and Porsche Museum and obviously Kepler Museum.

What a Mathematician should visit in Bucharest – of course I had to write something on Romania. I have chosen to write about Museum of the National Bank of Romania, “Dimitrie Leonida” Technical Museum  and “Amiral Vasile Urseanu” Observatory. 

As probably you realized, all the places I talked about in this posts I went to. So, I will do similar things with a couple of other places I have visited. On the list are: Glasgow (Scotland), Belfast (North Ireland) and Warsaw (Poland). What other cities or places would you like see? Let me know in the comment box bellow.

Have a great day.  You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath 

2 thoughts on “What a Mathematician should visit – project

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

