Books I’ve read in March

I have decided to start writing more about the books I am reading. There will be different types of books, not just textbooks or mathematics related ones – but I will do my best to show you the mathematics inside them, you will surprised to find out how much mathematics is hidden into just normal books (not about maths).

12899780_10209031362001423_1913132501_n

During March I haven’t read tons, but I am a huge bookworm and I love reading. Therefore, I don’t think there was a day when I hadn’t been reading at least a couple of pages. At the beginning of the month I ordered a book by a favorite author of mine and while I was waiting for the book to arrive, I have decided to read “Inferno” by Dan Brown. I cannot say I am a huge fan of this author, but his books are incredibly easy to read and entertaining. Also, the way he describes and tells the history of specific places/buildings/statues/paintings/sculptures is absolutely incredible. It just makes me want to go there and see it with my own eyes. Another thing I like about his books is the way he puts a little bit of mathematics inside them. “Inferno” is not an outsider and has an interesting mathematical topic inside:

He paused at a table, picked up a sheet of paper, and ripped it loudly in half. “And then if I have to place the two halves on top of each other…” He stacked the two halves. “And then if I were to repeat the process…” He again tore the papers, stacking them. “I produce a stack of paper that id now four times the thickness of the original […] Hypothetically speaking […] if the original sheet of paper is a mere one-tenth of a millimeter thick, and I were to repeat the process… say, fifty times… do you know how tall this stack would be?” […] “It would be one-tenth of a millimeter times two to the fiftieth power. It’s called geometric progression.” […] “Our stack of paper, after only fifty doublings, now reaches almost all the way … to the sun.”

The above quote is not the online example in the book, but there are not many. Other books had a little more mentions, but I think this has to do.

12935374_10209031338640839_1177959463_n

Next book I have started reading close to the end of this month, but I haven’t finished yet is “The Martian” by Andy Weir and I love it. I have seen the movie a while ago and when I heard it is a book behind it I had to read it. I am half in and I have to say that there is so much mathematics, physics, chemistry and just sciences, in general, that I get more and more excited for more. I don’t want to say more about the mathematics behind it because I have extra posts specially prepared for this. To make you all understand my enthusiasm, here is a short quote:

Remember those old math questions you had in algebra class? Where water is entering a container at a certain rate and leaving at a different rate and you need to figure out when it’ll be empty? Well, that concept is critical to the “Mark Watney doesn’t die” project I am working on.

12919230_10209031344240979_714781426_n

Hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know if you would like to see more like this. Also if you have any book recommendations let me know, I would love to know what you have been reading recently.

Have a great start of the weekend.  You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath 

One thought on “Books I’ve read in March

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

