Reading Math before going to Sleep

Hope everyone has a great Easter. Today I wanted to recommend a book – a math book, of course. It is a book I have finished reading a while ago, but I didn’t review it. I am talking about “The Bedside Book of Algebra” by Michael Willers.

First of all algebra was and still is one of my favorite parts of mathematics. This book gets you through an interesting history of the subject, nothing major and nothing extremely complicated. Like the title implies, it is a great book to read before going to bed just because it explains the concepts in a fun and easy way. Moreover, the book tries to look at algebra concepts in the order they were discovered. The history part behind those discoveries are quite interesting and the author tries to cover as much as possible in a fun and interesting manner.

I like the way the author sees mathematics and I will share a small quote from the book:

Algebra is all around us. Whether we realize it or not, it both represents and influences the world in a huge variety of ways, from the number of petals on a flower to the interest rate on your mortgage. What’s more, the language of mathematics can be beautiful in its own right. ~The Bedside Book Of Algebra~

Even though the book it is easy to read in bed, I could not stop writing some comments, or calculations on the margin. Reading a math book without a pencil is boring. I love making notes, inscriptions or marking things I loved or don’t understand. I find this a great way to understand things better and also when I go back to the book, I already know if there was something worth reading again.

Hope you enjoyed this short post. Let me know what books have you read recently, I would love to know. Have a great Sunday. Happy Easter!  You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath

3 thoughts on “Reading Math before going to Sleep

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

