Learn to be a Teacher part 7 ~ Microfiber

Some time passed from the last post about an App. I have discovered this app during my first school placement trying to find out something interesting for a lesson of symmetry. I have to confess that I was really lucky because the school has iPads because otherwise I wouldn’t know about this. Anyway, the app I am talking about is Microfiber.

The description that they give there is almost nothing with respect to the great mathematical and artistic applications it has. They say it is relaxing, which I quite agree, but they don’t say anything about other things. To understand what I mean take a look at the settings they offer (image from website):

screen480x480

When I saw the settings I new in one second that this would be incredible for symmetry, especially for rotational symmetry and reflection. So, I decided to first show them the app and then give them homework about it. Therefore, I asked them to find out what exactly what was the app doing in terms of mathematics and symmetry. This was their homework. Next lesson started by talking about what they thought the app was doing, what the settings were doing and everyone shared one of their own piece of art explaining what they did. With this in mind I talked about rotational symmetry and introduced the fact that there could be different centers of rotation (the app uses just one center). So, we went on with talking about order of rotational symmetry using their drawings and then discussing other shapes.

They were excited and liked the lessons a lot. I think that it was a good idea to ask them to do research / homework at home by playing with that app. Also, due to how the app looks everyone did it and they loved showing me more of their drawings during the next days. Moreover, at some point they asked if they could play with the app at the end of a lesson if they finished faster and I decided that if they behave they could do it, so it worked in a managerial way, too.

I thought I should share some of my “creations” with this app, they are not as great as the kids’ ones, but they will do:

For those of you that have been reading my blog for a longer time or maybe payed attention to January favorites, Microfiber was my favorite app for January. Hope this gave you a little more information about it.

If you have any questions about the activity let me know in the comment box bellow or you can send me an email at lthmathematics@gmail.com 

Have a great day. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath~

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

