Learn to be a Teacher part 6

It has been a while since I last wrote a post on this topic, but I thought this is the perfect time to share another activity I have used in the class. It won’t be a long post and I will try to be as concise as possible.

The lesson was on direct proportion and I had the feeling that all the exercises from the text book were quite boring. All the children new already what direct proportion means approximately. I think this topic was really easy for them because they use it every single day, so I thought about using some other examples which they found more interesting.

I started the lesson by asking them to give me as many examples of situations when they use, or think it should be used direct proportion. They came with quite an impressive list of things that range from shopping to cooking and salary. So I thought I will try a group activity witch involved using direct proportion multiple times. The activity is called Proportional Cook Off and I have found it on a website called TES (it is a great place to find ideas for different activities). Maybe I will write a list of websites which I find very useful for resources, let me know if you are interested in the comment box bellow.

The activity involved asking the children to chose a menu for a lunch/dinner for all their classmates. They had to chose the dish and calculated the quantities for each ingredient and also find out the prices. I have transformed the activity a little from the original: I gave them a limit for money at the begging (different for every group) and they had to chose the menu which was affordable for them.

Firstly, I have split the class into pairs. Then, they received the list of dishes: 3 for starters, 3 for main course and 3 deserts. Also, they received a list of prices for each ingredient and the amount of money they had. In the end they had to give me the full menu, how much they needed of each ingredient and how much it costs (if they had money left or not). Here are some images from the activity:

In the end I thought it was a success by the way the children worked together and their answers, but I also asked them to give me feedback on the activity. They enjoyed the activity and got extremely excited to do something that was not from a textbook and also gave them the feeling that they were doing something more useful for daily lives.

As stated above this is not my own idea, but something I have found and adapted from TES (it is a great place to find ideas for different activities), but it worked very well and I would like to recommend it.

If you have any questions about the activity let me know in the comment box bellow or you can send me an email at lthmathematics@gmail.com 

Have a great day. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath~

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

