Doing Research on a Subject

I thought that this would be a good way to finish the event Modern Mathematics. Thank you everyone who participated and helped me find out more about the topics and improve my mathematical knowledge. I have to confess that most of the things were new to me and it was very interesting to find out more.

In this post I want to share with you what I do when I am looking for new topics – my research methods. They are not the best ever, but this is how I work and it helps me. Also, in the end I will tell you a couple of things about my future projects.

research

So let the games begin:

  1. First, I search it on Wikipedia and try to see if anything there makes any sense at all. Sometimes when I find out what mathematicians worked on the topics, or maybe if it is a combination of other topics, it will be easier to search for those things. Wikipedia sometimes is not exactly the best resource when you want to go in depth, but for a start it is quite a good thing.
  2. Next is a search in Google Scholar (or any other place where I can find free books and articles) about an introduction into the topic. When I search for a book I pay attention to the information I have found on Wikipedia, especially on what mathematicians have worked on the past on this and also what other mathematical topics are included. Unfortunately, I don’t have time to read whole books or very long articles and I just look at the introduction of the book, or the abstract and conclusion of a research article. If I find something very interesting in there, I save them for later.
  3. Looking for books on Amazon is another thing I am doing. There are moments when the free books or articles are not extremely useful, so I start looking for books on Amazon. Nowadays, most of the books have a preview chapter that can be read for free; most of the times this is the introduction chapter, which is exactly what I am looking for.
  4. Depending on the topics, I sometimes just searched in Google. Also, I try to do this every time I am looking for an article from a magazine and not a research article on the subject. Again, I pay attention to what mathematicians worked in the domain and also what other interesting things I have found from books or research articles.
  5. Next on the list is looking for images, for this Google is my friend, but I often look on Pinterest or Tumblr for more.
  6. The last thing I do is trying to search for some videos on the topic. Most of the time I could find something useful on YouTube, but there are moments when I look on Khan Academy.

Hope this will help you understand more about what I do. If you have any recommendations just let me know in the comment box bellow.

images (1)

As promised, I wanted to share with you some of the future projects I have in mind for this blog:

  1. I am holding the MTaP Math Education Blog Carnival again this month and I am incredibly excited for this. In case you don’t know what I am talking about, check this. Also, here are some of my old posts on the carnival: #81 and #90. I am always happy to read all the submissions and I appreciate all the work people put into writing those articles. If you have a maths blog, or you know some great people that do just complete this Google Doc.
  2. Some of you already know about my Romanian blog, but just in case you speak Romanian and have not heard of it, here is a link: LThMath Ro. I am posting something every Sunday so far, hope you like it.
  3. Also, I am looking for another topics for a similar event like Modern Mathematics or History of Mathematics. The event will take place at the beginning of April, so if you have any ideas let me know in the comment box bellow.

Have a great day. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath~

One thought on “Doing Research on a Subject

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

