January Favorites

Is that time of the month. I just want to say that I loved absolutely everything that this month has given me and it is right. It was a hard, but beautiful month with many incredible projects on the go and new ideas on the horizon. But, let us start with the favorites:

1. Favorite Quote: I believe that very rarely I have a favorite quote which is not about mathematics in general. This month there was the discovery of a new huge prime number and I got extremely excited about this. So, my favorite quote for this month has to do with prime numbers:

1001965_1192579294104472_1451376416039549581_n

2. Favorite mathematician: I was quite surprised to see some of my favorite mathematicians born in January and also so close to each other: David Hilbert and Joseph-Louis Lagrange. I have written a post about them and also another interesting mathematician, if you are interested you should check Mathematicians of January. But I have to say that my favorite is Lagrange. First time I heard about him was in a Number Theory lecture and since then I was fascinated to read about his work and life.

wp-1453844851431.jpg

3. Favorite art: well, this is not really art, but I just love how many mathematical concepts are presented in this simple image. Let me know what concepts you can see, just leave a comment bellow.

12439146_1199851080043960_5076958480509791856_n

4. Favorite app: after a long time I have another favorite app. This time it is an app that can be found only on iTunes and I am a little sad I cannot have it on my Android, too. But I have to say it is awesome….. Just check Microfiber for some mathematics combined with mathematics, I will write a blog post on this very soon. Here is something I have created using this app:

12571099_10208412753856606_1367188145_n

5. The most interesting thing of the month: I have decided to keep my mind fresh and to always search interesting and new things. This month I have read something quite interesting that combines mathematics and biology:

In the mid-1990s, Kyoto University researchers realized to their surprise that equations originally devised by the mathematical genius Alan Turing predicted that the parallel yellow and purple stripes of the marine angelfish have to move over time. Stable, unmoving patterns didn’t jive with the mathematics. To find out if this was true, the researchers photographed angelfish in an aquarium over several months. Sure enough, an angelfish’s stripes do migrate across its body over time, and in just the way the equations had indicated.

12592743_1200949506600784_5296147233851135069_n

Let me know your January favorites in the comment box bellow. Have a great day. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath~

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

