The Mathematics of Tomorrow

I think it is fair enough to make a post on the new event I have in mind… Modern Mathematics is another Facebook event I am preparing for February. Don’t get romantic because this doesn’t have anything to do with 14th February, it is an event which could open our eyes on some of the topics modern mathematics offers.

i_dont_give_a_shit_about_your_mountain

Everything started when I asked some of you to complete a short survey and let me know what other topics you would like to see me posting about. So on the top was something that sounded like: “where modern mathematics currently is and where it’s going”. And this intrigued me a lot because it is one of the questions I ask myself A LOT… As you expect it, I don’t know the answer but I am willing to search, read, understand and learn more. There are topics out there I have never heard of, that are new to me as there are to anyone outside the domain. So, I thought it would be a good idea to start understanding what is happening, at least on a low level.

So, the event will be probably about gathering research for a better and more educative events will come later about these things. But who knows, maybe I (we) will be past the gathering information in the first couple of days. In that period (first 2 weeks of February) I will try and post a blog post every 2 days to keep you on track with what is happening.

Here are some topics I am considering for the event (let me know if you think others fit the idea):

  • Category Theory
  • Topology
  • Chaos Theory
  • Tropical Geometry
  • Representation Theory

Let me know what you think about this event in the comment box bellow. I am quite excited about it and hope to learn a lot of new things. You are the best people ever, thank you for giving me the chance to share all these things with you.

Have a great week. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram  and  WeHeartIt. I will try to post there as often as possible.

Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! ~LThMath~

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

