Maths Christmas Carols

Tomorrow is Christmas Eve and my excitement is over the top. Even far away from home I still listen to Romanian Carols and sing them with friends. To my surprise I have found some incredible and creative maths carols. I just have to share them with you ^_^

co16

Firstly, I have to say that last year I have tried adapting a well-known carol and changing some of the lyrics to make it more maths-related. It was hard job and it is not incredibly good, but if you want to read it: Merry Christmas!

Next, I want to show you some good carol adaptations found on Mr. P’s Math Page. So here are some of those I enjoyed the most:

1. Exponents (sang as “Jingle Bells”) –  here is a small part of it:

Exponents, Exponents,
Powerful things!
Raise you up, and root you down,
are what logarithms bring.

2. Calculus Christmas Carol (sand as “Jingle Bells” again) – here is the part I love the most:

Looking for the tangent
It’s really m we seek
With epsilon and delta
Mathematics looks like Greek
Trying to find a limit
Everything gets small
If you can’t determine it
You land in L’Hopital

3. Rudolph the Parallelogram ( sang as “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”) –  the lyrics are great, have a small pick:

If all his sides are equal
A rhombus, that would be his name
And if he is rectangular
All his angles are the same
All of the little trapezoids
Used to laugh and call him names
“Rudolph the Parallelogram,
You know that we not the same!”

4. Fill the Boards with Differentials (sang as “Deck the Halls”) – I can imagine myself singing this carol if my class:

Fill the boards with differentials,
FA-LA-LA-LA-LA LA-LA-LA-LA,
Note that du’s are essential,
FA-LA-LA-LA-LA LA-LA-LA-LA,
C’s are constants here before us,
FA-LA-LA LA-LA-LA La-La-LA,
Integration cannot floor us,
FA-LA-LA-LA-LA LA-LA-LA-LA.

Hope you enjoyed this small post. I wish you a Merry Christmas and hope that you will spend it with those dear to you. Enjoy the moment, have fun, but most of all relax. Also, in these days if you have the chance to help someone, this advice is for every day of the year, but I think it is understood better in this period.

I will let you a wonderful song I have been listening in the past week and it prepared me for Christmas:

Thank you for your help and support. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  TwitterInstagramLettrs and WeHeartIt, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

