Advent Calendars

You will think I am crazy talking about Maths Advent Calendars when there are less then 5 days to Christmas, but for me it makes sense. I never have time daily to check all those incredibly interesting and nice Advent Calendars and I choose on day in December ( before Christmas most of the time) when I spend some time looking at multiple Advent Calendars on the internet. I feel that I get more out of the activities they prepared. Moreover, I haven’t heard of an Advent Calendar before I came to Scotland and I was never into this until 2 years ago.

Today was the day I had a look at some Maths Advent Calendars and here is a small list of the ones I enjoyed:

1. Advent Calendar 20015 – Primary by NrichI know that it sounds strange to put an advent calendar for primary, but the activities are really nicely made and enjoyable. I like how they made some days look like real things happening in a classroom ( day 15: “When you arrive in the classroom on Monday morning you discover all the numbers have fallen off the class number square and they are in a heap on the floor. All that is left on the wall is a blank grid!” ). Some of the activities from this advent calendar are also very good for parents to try as holiday activities with their children.

2. Of course the Nrich version for secondary is not missing. Advent Calendar 2015 – Secondary by Nrichthe activities in this calendar are those type of activities I would do every morning while drinking my tea (or hot chocolate for December). I find them really interesting for adults as much as for children and the way they are more interactive ( a couple of nice GeoGebra things). Also, some posts offer some small history lesson (day 5: Egyptian Fractions).

3. Alex Pett’s Advent Calendarfor this one I have to thank Colleen Young and her blog Mathematics, Learning and Technology. This advent calendar has a nice presentation of mathematicians (a little bit of history is always good) and an interesting problem for every day. It is a pdf, so it kind of gives everything away because you don’t have to press on a number to see what it is behind it, but for my style of reading these things it worked perfectly.

Advent calendar Alex Pett

5. Advent Calendar 2015 by Aperiodical: I have to say that I am mostly amused by this calendar and it even made me excited to check the other things they will post 22, 23 and 24. This one gives you the feeling of randomness: Wikipedia articles, YouTube videos, different interesting blogs… quite a range.

4. I have to finish with this one because I still didn’t finish all of it and probably it will be the “movie” before going to bed… the Advent Calendar by Numberphile: behind every number you find a Numberphile video related to that number. I think it is a great idea and I am quite excited to watch all of them today ^_^

Have fun this holiday season. Enjoy every second and try to relax and do the things you like. Happy Holidays!

Thank you for your help and support. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  TwitterInstagramLettrs and WeHeartIt, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

