Online courses: Coursera

I thought that today I should say a couple of words about one the biggest online courses website I know about: Coursera. I have found about it approximately 4 years ago and I have tried some of its courses during the years. Since I first started to use it, it has evolved a lot and now it offers way more courses and I believe the certificates are now more recognized than before.

Coursera-Infographic

When it comes to mathematics, if you just search for mathematics related courses, you get a huge list of courses… There are introductory courses in Calculus (Pre-Calculus by University of California), Logic (Introduction to Logic by Stanford University), Mathematical Philosophy (Introduction to Mathematical Philosophy by Philosofy by Luwig-Maximilians Universitat Munchen), Algebra (Intermediate Algebra by University of California). From this first list of course I have done “Introduction to Logic”, which at first seemed to be extremely easy and then it transformed into something which used by brain 100%, also because they have used some ideas from computer science and I enjoyed it at its full. Another one I have taken is “Introduction to Mathematical Philosophy” which was interesting at first and then got to be a little to much for me. I had the feeling that I couldn’t concentrate at watching/listening the videos and decided to give up on the course, then after a couple of months took it again and made a list with the recommended books and started reading some of them and some related articles, but I never completely finished the course (maybe I will find some time one day).

But the thing that you find more on Coursera are the courses on applied mathematics: there are quite a lot of courses on statistics (Statistical Inference by Johns Hopkins University; a lot of courses on Bio-statistics), optimization (Linear and Discrete Optimization by Ecolo Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne) and quite a number of courses on topics related to computer science (Cryptography, Algorithms and much more).

On another idea, other courses I have taken are: Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University (one of my favorite courses ever, I was mesmerized by all the things we have done and I have read the books with extra attention; it was one of the first courses which influenced my life and gave me the idea to start writing about mathematics and start this whole idea of Life Through a Mathematician’s Eyes) and  Game Theory by Stanford University and The University of British Columbia (this was the course I looked for after I have seen the movie ” A Beautiful Mind” – just had to know more and the course offered me exactly the things I was looking for).

Hopefully this gave a little inside into this. If you haven’t tried it, give it a go; you don’t have to complete the course if you think it’s to much, but try. Also, for those of you that have done some courses, which one do you recommend? Let me know in the comment box bellow.

Hope you enjoyed this small post. Have a wonderful week. Thank you for your help and support. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,Instagram and Lettrs, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! 

2 thoughts on “Online courses: Coursera

Add yours

    1. I have totally enjoyed that course and I have done extra work for it. I have to say I got 83, but it was one of the hardest courses also because English was not my forte at the moment and I really had to work extra. But it showed to be one of the most influential courses, so I totally recommend you take it again if you have time 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

