Learning to be a Teacher (part 2)

Some of you already know about my idea to write about my journey of becoming a teacher from the post Learning to be a Teacher (part 1). But in the past days I realized that this will always be a continuous journey and not just a one year university master, this will be an all time journey for me and I am happy to learn more everyday.

But going back to the university course, I wanted to talk a little about one of the courses I have in the 1st semester. This course is an interesting one because it is a common course for the primary (future) teachers, the students doing undergraduate education and the secondary (future) teachers. I made some research regarding this type of organisation and I have discovered that it is the only university in Scotland that has this organisation. I am not completely sure it is a good idea 100%, but I see its good things. I believe it is quite important to know things about the primary education if you are the secondary teacher in order to understand from what system are your pupils coming from and also for a primary teacher to know things about the secondary system to understand what is the next step in the pupils’ life. What do you think about it? Is it a good idea to have such a mix of students at a course?

Moreover, the idea of this course is to teach us the more theoretical things. We are doing learning theories and some social concepts such as social justice and inclusion. I find it a little bit hard for me to do all this theoretical things, but also interesting. I believe it is quite important to know the theory even if it is quite hard to see how exactly do you apply them in class. I think that by knowing, learning and reading about them influences the way you set your teaching methods.

I have some quotes I like by Peter Mittler about inclusion which I love:

Inclusion is not only about schools but about society […] Inclusion is not about placing children in mainstream schools. It is about changing schools to make them more responsive to the needs of all children. It is about helping all teachers to accept responsibility for the learning of all children in their school and preparing them to teach those children who are currently excluded from their school, for whatever reason. It concerns all children who are not benefiting from schooling, not just those who are labelled as having ‘special educational needs’.

Inclusion is about everyone being able to have opportunities for choice and self-determination. In education it means listening to and valuing what children have to say, regardless of age or labels.

Hope you liked this post, if you have any more questions about this course, or if you want to see more posts about the theory I am doing let me know in the comment box bellow (or email me at lthmathematics@gmail.com).

original_einstein-quote-teacher-thank-you-card

Thank you for your help and support. You can find me on FacebookTumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram and Lettrs, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

