Paper Folding

Today, I wanted to write about an app which I have discovered a while ago, but didn’t use it that much so that I could write something about it. Now I feel that I can talk nicely about it and share my opinion about it.

I am talking about the game: Paperama. This game is exactly paper folding on a screen (touch screen). You might say that the game destroys the idea of paper folding and that so much is lost of the beauty of folding paper and discovering new things. Well…. for those of you which are more into origami and paper folding, you will probably feel that this is not extremely satisfactory. But you will still find interesting things that will force your brain.

unnamed

Besides the fact that the app looks really beautiful and colorful, there are quite a lot of educational parts in it. Obviously from all the educational parts, I got extremely excited for the mathematical things. If you try some levels you will observe that understanding shapes, angles and dimensions are incredible important. I think it could be an interesting app to start investigating some shape properties (geometry to its maximum) with a couple of basic questions. These questions could work nicely for an after-school club, or a parents-children moment playing and learning. Here are a couple I find interesting:

  • what shape do we get after every fold?
  • is there another way to fold the paper to get the answer? how could be do it with less moves?
  • does the shape have any symmetry? when does the symmetry disappear during folding? why?

I am convinced there could be other questions depending on the stage and the figure. But I find these questions to be quite interesting as a discussion openers. For the parents that are not completely sure about the answers, I think that asking the question and discussing with the child and discovering together will make the activity even more fun and educational.

Paperama Yama Level 19 Hedgehog - Tips and 3 Stars Fold Solutions

Let me know if you would love to read more posts like this one. I am trying to write small reviews about different apps I use that could help you in any way possible. Also, if you know of any apps you would like me to try out let me know in the comment box bellow.

Thank you for your help and support. You can find me on FacebookTumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram and Lettrs, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

