Mathematics and Comics

A small recommendation for Sunday. I have always liked comics and I enjoyed those comic magazines from a young age. I used to love those superhero or fairies/witches stories and my parents had to pay attention to when a new number appeared, otherwise I would extremely angry if I missed something. Reading and having comic magazines has made me more organized than ever.

And right now I totally enjoy the more scientific approaches of comics. I believe that through comics children can understand a lot of things and it could be a good method to use comics as an introduction to some interesting matters. Mathematics’ comics are a great idea and can be used quite nicely. I have liked the comics of Margreet de Heer and think that her book Science – A Discovery in Comics is fantastic. Here are a couple of images from the comic:

science04 tumblr_mv1jn3gm7x1sj97z5o1_1280

Obviously these are not the only incredible comics you could find. There are quite an impressive number of them and sometimes I wish I had a little more free time to read them. A few websites are a good start in your search for comics; GoComics is one which I check regularly.

Let me know which are your favorite comics and why. Also, where do you go in search of great comics? Hope you liked this small post. Have a great Sunday. Thank you for your help and support. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,Instagram and Lettrs, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

