My Wish List of Books

Just found out that it is the National Book Month. I am quite a big fan of books and I totally agree with this type of activities. So, to celebrate this I thought I would tell you something more about the books I have added to my wish list in the past 2 months.

  1. Creating Symmetry: The Artful Mathematics of Wallpaper Patterns is an illustrated book which presents step-by-step introduction to symmetry. It is that kind of book which combines interesting mathematics with art and the beauty of nature.  It is recommend as a book with modest background in mathematics, but enough to make you excited about the theory behind rosettes, freezes and wallpaper patterns. But even if it is considered to have modest mathematics expect some group theory, functional analysis and partial differential equations on the way. 
  2. On the artistic part, the second book is This is Not a Maths Book: A Smart Art Activity Book. The book is full with creative mathematical activities. Following the instructions for beautiful designs, you will go through fractal art, anamorphic art, knots and other maths facts. I believe this book works together with the one above.
  3. Finishing with artistic things and going into cooking, Cakes, Custard and Category Theory: Easy recipes for understanding complex maths is the perfect choice for both maths and cooking. The book promises some interesting and easy to do recipes combined with mathematical theory. I am quite excited to see how the author does those culinary analogies. Through all those recipes, starting with simple numeracy we will end into category theory, which captivates mathematicians today.
  4. The last book on my list is Professor Stewart’s Incredible Numbers. Ian Stewart is a great author and all the books I have read by him are quite interesting, so I am expecting the same for this one. Compared with the other 3 books above, this is more theoretical, I am not saying it is full of theorems and proofs, but the topics it covers gives this sensation. The book covers every type of number from whole numbers to complex ones, also it gives some inside into history of mathematics and how this numbers evolved. But, expect some games and fun concepts, such as eleven-dimensional space.

Hope you enjoyed this small list. I am quite a book-worm and I love them a lot, especially when they are maths-related. I am trying to read as many maths-related books as I can, if you want to talk about books with me you can add me on Goodreads. Also, let me know which books you have on your wish list. If you believe that time is a problem when it comes to reading I totally recommend Audible ( you can get a free audiobook if you sign up).

Thank you for your help and support. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter, Instagram and Lettrs, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! 

3 thoughts on “My Wish List of Books

Add yours

  1. I already have many of the books that I want to read but the only thing stopping me from reading them all is time constraints. I read around 8 to 12 books a month, both math & non-matb related books, but there are still so much that I need to read :).

    Btw, when in comes to popular math books, you can’t go wrong with Martin Gardner, Clifford Pickover, Raymond Smullyan and John Conway. Of course, classics such as the books of E. T Bell, Hardy and Polya are still enjoyable to read nowadays.

    And yes, the books of Stewart are very good and he’s one of my fav author. In fact, I recently just made a review on one of his books (17 equations that changed the world) on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I appreciate the fact that you are reading that much. Sometimes I cannot that much and I love reading 🙂 Good for you ^_^ Just around 3 years ago I have discovered maths books that are not really textbooks and I have a lot to catch up… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

