Alan Turing: The Enigma

I believe most of you already know I am reading Alan Turing: The Enigma: The Book That Inspired the Film The Imitation Game by Andrew Hodges. Though I haven’t finished it yet, I wanted to talk about it just a little.

12071538_10207762684445277_264206039_n

First of all, I believe this is the first biography I have ever read. I was never captivated by them, even though I tried some I couldn’t get after page 50, so I gave up. But for this one I am still surprised how much I enjoy it. Everything started with the movie, The Imitation Game was one of my favorite movies and it surely is on my list of maths-related movies I have to see again. After I saw it, I found out that it was made after a book and I did some research. I didn’t get excited about it first, but last month I have found it in a charity shop (second hand bookshop) and I thought I will give it a try. I had the feeling that if I didn’t like it at least I didn’t pay full price for it and I can give it to someone else. But I am still reading and enjoying it.

The book impresses me by the amount of details it offers. I believe that for someone not interested in the work Alan Turing did and the mathematics part around him, probably it is a little hard to read or maybe to technical. But I enjoy it. Finding out about all the mathematical discoveries from that period and their impact on the society is quite interesting. Moreover, the WWII part is again very interesting and informative. Another book to try if you are interested in the history regarding the Enigma machine is Enigma: The Battle for the Code.

One of the things I enjoyed more (so far) is the description of the educational system in that period in England. As expected the book takes us to Alan’s school life and it is quite interesting to find out how school was back then and made me think about how much it evolved (or not) since then. I am still half through the book and didn’t get much into the story regarding his homosexuality, just small events are discussed so far. But I will write again after I finish it with my all over thoughts.

Hope you enjoyed this small, not that scientific and probably rambled post. If you want to talk more about books you can find me on Goodreads at Lthmath.  Let me know if you read the book and what are your thoughts about it. Thank you for your help and support. You can find me onFacebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,  Twitter,  Instagram and Lettrs, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Alan Turing: The Enigma

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

