September’s Favorite

September is finished and it went so incredibly fast… This month has been very chaotic for me: masters, work and daily life, so overwhelming sometimes (check School and Everyday Life) but I am proud to say that my organisation ideas are working and I have been posting every other day. I cannot tell you how incredibly happy I am that I forced myself to do this and now, after one month, I realized that it isn’t that bad. Thank you very much for all your help and understanding. I appreciate your wonderful and useful comments. I should stop ‘rambling’ and start the favorites:

1. Favorite quotes: since I have decided to do Monday quotes on my Facebook page things got really wonderful on this subsection. For this month, my favorite quote is:

 This is such a great quote, I believe that putting imagination in the mathematical context gives a different perspective on mathematics as a whole. It is quite strange at first to say that imagination is before reasoning in mathematics, but I find this interesting and true if we think about the way the more abstract branches of mathematics have evolved.

2. Favorite art: there are not many explanation for this: Beads and Mathematics.

11698664_937022269691687_6444329286820725730_n 12004090_980702291990351_3153763143597674027_n

3. Favorite clock: last month I had another favorite clock, but after that I started looking for more interesting ideas and this time I have another favorite:

 I thought about making my own personal collection of clocks ^_^ They are just incredibly fun and I enjoy looking and discovering what the time is, even if I know the numbers on the clock by heart without looking at them properly, but this type of clocks make it more interesting and exciting.

4. Favorite number: this time I have a number favorite, so exciting. It has been a while since I had one, but this month due to the MTaP Carnival I had to look for interesting maths facts about number 90. Everything started to be more exciting when I got to pronic numbers (a number which is the product of two consecutive integers).

 5. Favorite mathematician: I am quite sure you will all understand my choice here: Bertrand Riemann. There is not much to say, just his name is simply enough, if you want to read more, have a look at my post about him.

los-10-matematicos-ms-famosos-de-la-historia5

6. Favorite video: I know it will sound incredibly strange for some of you, but with my chaotic time-table I have found a way to listen to maths videos (mostly discussions) while I am taking my bath. Don’t overly judge, but I find it very relaxing to listen to intelligent and fascinating maths talks during my bath. This month I have enjoyed:

7. Favorite book: after I have talked about my strange way to listen to maths discussion, now I am going to explain how I read ^_^ In the bus is one of my favorite places, especially because I travel a lot due to my work and school. Another strange place is… while walking on the streets. Again don’t overly judge, but I am reading while walking from my flat to the bus station or from the bus station to university (if I am by myself, of course) and ‘Yes!’ I am reading, not listening to audio books. The book I have started this month and I completely love so far is Alan Turing: The Enigma: The Book That Inspired the Film The Imitation Game by Andrew Hodges. If you are following me on Instagram, you probably know I am reading this one ^_^

12081486_10207699803593295_1371527944_n

8. Random Favorite: in the past weeks I have read a lot of things about the 17 Global Goals and I wrote a small post about it just on Sunday and I had to put it on my favorites. I just enjoy the idea and I hope, deep inside my heart, that if we all work together we can do it.

12071324_10207686458779683_162401392_n

Hope you all had a wonderful month ^_^ Thank you for your help and support. You can find me on FacebookTumblr, Google+,  TwitterInstagram and Lettrs, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

