July’s Favorites

July is over and I cannot believe how fast this month has passed. This month was a huge thing for me, especially about math and my LThMath-project. First of all I have written for the page Women in Maths and the post got so much feed-back. I still get lots of messages from people all around the world and everything they say makes my day incredible. I am completely overwhelmed.

Moreover, this month I participated in the PCMI summer school which was an incredible experience and I am honored I participated and met so many incredible mathematicians. If you want to find out more daily things about my experience you can check the following: 1st Week of PCMI, 2nd Week at PCMI and 3rd Week at PCMI. Hope you all have a great mathematical summer, don’t forget to check my Facebook event: Mathematics and Summer ^_^ Now on the favorites:

1. Favorite quote: this is a quote I found in the middle of the month and I love it since then. It reminds me of those moments when I was just a 12 years old girl mesmerized by my math teacher that was doing incredible number tricks at the blackboard, exactly like a magician on the stage. Also, at that time I was impressed by anything that had to do with math and I thought that I would never get to understand all those tricks, exactly the same as magician’s tricks.

2. Favorite art: at this stage I am not sure if you will consider it art. Anyway, I love it and consider it incredible. I am talking about 3D printing, especially mathematical shapes, but I find that other things are also beautiful. I have done a lot of 3D workshops at PCMI, if you want to find out more check 3D Printing. Here are some photos:

New Imageyh Share from Pixlr (3)

3. Favorite numbers: this time I was totally fascinated by the Pell numbers (Number Facts) are an infinite sequence of integers, known since ancient times, that comprise the denominators of the closest rational approximations to the square root of 2. So the sequence begins with 0, 1, 2, 5, 12, and 29:

 number_29

4. Favorite mathematician: this time it is quite hard to chose a favorite one… I have 3 of them ^_^ but they seem to be from total different categories in my mind: the well-known one (the star) = Leibniz; the new discovery of the moth (a small positive shock for me) = Wilhelm Wirtinger; and an old favorite from high-school = Cramer. Which is your favorite?

New Image 220px-Wilhelm_Wirtinger images (1)

5. Favorite book: this month I have a favorite book ^_^ , a special one, but I don’t want to say much about it because I will write a post about it soon. I am talking about “FLCT: Funnt Little Calculus Text”  by Robert W. Ghrist. Here is a page from the book to understand my excitement:

FLCT

6. Favorite blogs/pages/people: with all the things happening this month I have just 2 favorites:

Math Lovers – is a lovely math Facebook page. They post very funny things and it is on my huge list of inspirational pages. If you want to laugh and learn math, this is the perfect place to check.

A Path to the Lighter Side of Math – this month I found myself reading a lot of the posts (old or new) from this blog and I find extremely entertaining and interesting. Also, I love the fact that we can find a lot of problems and they are not extremely long, which makes everything easier to read.

Let me know what were your favorite math-things this month ^_^ Enjoy the summer and learn math!

Thank you for your support.Hope you are all having fun this summer, don’t forget to check my Facebook event: Mathematics and Summer ^_^  and also my magazine MathTravel if you think about spending the last month of summer like a math-traveler. Thank you for your help and support. Thank you for reading. You can find me on FacebookTumblr, Google+,  TwitterInstagram and Lettrs, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! 

2 thoughts on “July’s Favorites

Add yours

  1. I really like the Bernoulli family. It’s very rare for one family to produce so many mathematicians.

    Anyway, thank you for linking on my blog and thanks for reading my posts as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

