Gabriel Cramer

This is one of my favorite mathematicians in terms of theorems and properties he did. One of his methods was extremely impressive for me in high school. So with no more comments, Gabriel Cramer, born on 31st July 1704,  was a Swiss mathematician, born in Geneva.

New Image

Cramer showed promise in mathematics from an early age. At 18 he received his doctorate (I always get extremely excited when I see this young age) and at 20 he was co-chair of mathematics at the University of Geneva. (In that period things were done so fast, I just started university at 20 ^_^) In 1728 he proposed a solution to the St. Petersburg Paradox (it is a paradox related to probability and decision theory in economics) that came very close to the concept of expected utility theory given ten years later by Daniel Bernoulli (this theory is a hypothesis concerning people’s preferences with regard to choices that have uncertain outcomes (gambles)).

He published his best-known work in his forties. This included his treatise on algebraic curves (1750). It contains the earliest demonstration that a curve of the n-th degree is determined by n(n + 3)/2 points on it, in general position. He edited the works of the two elder Bernoullis, and wrote on the physical cause of the spheroidal shape of the planets and the motion of their apsides (1730), and on Newton’s treatment of cubic curves (1746).

In 1750 he published Cramer’s rule, my favorite thing in my high-school year. This rule gave a general formula for the solution for any unknown in a linear equation system having a unique solution, in terms of determinants implied by the system. This rule is still standard and it is the one that impressed me a lot. After finding about this rule I wanted to know more and more about this mathematician and his work. For me (at that age) the correlation between systems of equations and matrices was a new thing and I enjoyed every aspect of it. Now, I find this method interesting and extremely easy, but in my university years I found other more interesting rules and methods, but this one has a special place in my heart.

c303a7140dbd153bae1a0579b8fb6f91-d3i0fdm

Source: Wikipedia;

Thank you for your support.Hope you are all having fun this summer, don’t forget to check my Facebook event: Mathematics and Summer ^_^ Thank you for your help and support. Thank you for reading. You can find me on FacebookTumblr, Google+,  TwitterInstagram and Lettrs, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

