June Favorites

It’s the end of June and I have no idea how this month pasted so quickly. So many things happened for me this month. First of all I graduated and it was quite overwhelming (it was a combination of being proud, scared and excited at the same time). Here is a photo from the event:

Moreover, I am moving house which is always really hard and I always get annoyed by how many things I have (especially clothes and books… and I still buy moree…). On the exciting part, now I am in the USA, Utah for a summer school. More exactly I am at the undergraduate program at PCMI, Midway Utah and the research topic for it is “Geometry of moduli spaces and representation theory”. So extremely excited ^_^ I will post soon about it, so stay tuned.  Let’s start the favorites:

1. Favorite quote: this month’s quote doesn’t need much explanation. I sure most of you know about Paul Erdos, but a small recollection is always good:

Paul Erdős was a Hungarian mathematician. He was one of the most prolific mathematicians of the 20th century, but also known for his social practice of mathematics. He pursued problems in combinatorics, graph theory, number theory, classical analysis, approximation theory, set theory, and probability theory.

2. Favorite art: this month it surely is the tile-like pattern. I have also written a post about the work of the artist Javier de Riba, which I find incredible; so  beautiful and mathematical ^_^

javierderiba_karratuak_1

3. Favorite number: well this time I don’t have a specific number, but more like a group of them. I have no idea why, but I got quite excited for the Mersenne primes and the way people are searching for these numbers. Also, I believe that the hard work people were doing to find them before using computers is incredible.

New Skitch

4. Favorite mathematician: for this month it has to be De Morgan. Augustus De Morgan, born on 27 June 1806, was a British mathematician and logician. He formulated De Morgan’s laws and introduced the term mathematical induction, making its idea rigorous. Mathematical induction was one of the 1st things I extremely enjoyed in school and I felt completely blown away by its utility.

4. Favorite book: well this time, I don’t really have a favorite book ( I’ve read a couple this month), but I want to use this rubric to say proudly: ” I have written my 1st magazine!!!!!!!!”. For those of you that enjoyed my series ‘What a Mathematician should visit’ would love the magazine ^_^ I made a compilation of these posts and transformed it into a magazine ^_^ It is called MathTravel.

New Skitchhty

Unfortunately this time I don’t have any favorites for blog/pages and this is not because I didn’t like the ones I saw, but because I didn’t have enough time to search for new ones.

Hope you are all having fun this summer, don’t forget to check my Facebook event: Mathematics and Summer ^_^ Thank you for your help and support. Thank you for reading. You can find me on FacebookTumblr, Google+,  TwitterInstagram and Lettrs, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

