Mersenne Primes

I was thinking a lot these days about this blog and exactly how I should reorganize this a little. If you follow me on Facebook or Tumblr, I think you are familiar with my new weekly number/mathematician series. And last month I also wrote a post about them on this blog (Mathematicians of April and May, April & May Numbers, May Favorites). But I find it quite hard to write lots of posts at the end of the month and not much or constantly during the month. So I decided to change this a little. I will post shorter articles here with the same information I post on other places in order for you to have more time to read them and also it’s easier for me to divide my work equality every month. Hope you agree with my new idea and enjoy the new (slightly smaller) posts.

I will start with Mersenne primes:

In mathematics, a Mersenne prime is a prime number of the form M_n=2^n-1. This is to say that it is a prime number which is one less than a power of two. They are named after Marin Mersenne, a French Minim friar, who studied them in the early 17th century. Many fundamental questions about Mersenne primes remain unresolved. It is not even known whether the set of Mersenne primes is finite or infinite.

New Skitch

Édouard Lucas proved in 1876 that M_127 is prime. This was the largest known prime number for 75 years, and the largest ever calculated by hand. It has 39 digits.

As of October 2014, 48 Mersenne primes are known.

If you want to find out more about them and their history I recommend the article Mersenne Primes: History, Theorems and Lists. Also, there are a couple of good, interesting blog posts about them, here are just a couple: Mersenne Primes by Joe Kelley’s Blog and Five Interesting things about Mersenne Primes by John D. Cook.

Also, Numberphile has a couple of videos about them: 31 and Mersenne Primes and Perfect Numbers and Mersenne Primes.

Let me know if you like this new idea of mine in the comment box bellow. Thank you for your help and support. Thank you for reading. You can find me on FacebookTumblr, Google+,  TwitterInstagram and Lettrs, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! 

4 thoughts on “Mersenne Primes

Add yours

  1. Hi, First of al: keep up the good work, excellent blog! Having said that, maybe it’s jut me but I don’t quite get the new idea. It seems as if the sentence in which you explain it, contains a few contradictions. The articles will contain the same amount of information but will be shorter? Or will you divide the contents between Facebook and your blog?

    Like

    1. Thank you for your question. Maybe it sounds strange. I tried to edit it a little. So… on Tumblr and Facebook I post weekly about a mathematician and some number fact. On wordpress I mostly gathered all the information at the end of the month and post 3 times: mathematicians, numbers and favorites. This was more time consuming. Thus I decided to try and write weekly about them, mostly on the same time as on Facebook and Tumblr. But because of this, the posts will be slightly shorter. I tried Mersenne primes and Leibniz’s birthday so far. If you have any more questions, let me know 🙂 ^_^

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

