April’s Favorite

After one long day of revision for my exams I thought that write this post would relax me a lot. So, with no further explanation lets start the favorite list:

1. Favorite quote: for this quote there is no more explanation. It just shows the universality of mathematics. David Hilbert is a great mathematician and he understood mathematics to another level. Again, incredible quote:

11084286_1028510047178065_5006556984291495150_n

2. Favorite art and maths inspiration: I believe you already know the winner for this part. An American student, mathematician and photographer, Nikki Graziano and her project are incredible. You can read more about her understanding of geometry and nature in the post: Earth Day.

when_math_and_640_07

3. Favorite number: if you liked my facebook page, you already know that I have decided to post some number related things more often (album). This means I have a lot of favorte numbers these month, but I will chose the one that had also a little personal meaning for me: 121. I have chosen this number not only for some of incredible properties (read more here), but also because this month I hosted the 121st edition of Carnival of Mathematics.

11118382_1034718783223858_869241347713074984_n

4. Favorite mathematician: I’ve never posted about a favorite mathematician in a similar post before (as far as I remember ^_^ ), but this month I have read a lot about Euler and a lost of his theorems appeared in my courses. Also, due to my revision period I’ve seen his name a lot in a month. Moreover, his birthday was on the 15th ^_^

24aa6836182ba15cf2d75ec3e200f641

5. Favorite blog/pages/people: this month I have some interesting recommandation for you, which I enjoyed this month a lot:

  • Women in Maths – this is a unique page. Their description explains everything: “There is still quite some bias about women in maths. We want to challenge stereotypes how a mathematician looks like.” I think reading about the stories of other women and their realisations and struggles is influencing me a lot.
  • Mr Fractal – 1st time posting an Instagram profile. As the name states, this has really nice fractal images and I for me they are so beautiful and relaxing. Take a look if you are a fractal fan like me. ^_^

Hope you are all well and that the beginning of May is bringing a lot of sun and happines. For me May starts with exams, but summer holiday is close by and I am excited for it. Good luck for anyone that has exams soon (take a look at some of tips for studing here). As you have observed there is nor favorite video this month, or book unfortunatelly. But I feel that May will have more of these.

Thank you for your help and support. Thank you for reading. You can find me on FacebookTumblr, Google+,  Twitter  and  Instagram, I will try to post there as often as possible. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! Enjoy! 

5 thoughts on “April’s Favorite

Add yours

  1. I like the ideal that mathematics should know no cultural or language barriers, but I just cannot believe it’s so. For me, it takes something like looking at the (pre-Columbian) South American nations which had means of tracking numbers by knotted patterns in strings to realize here are ways to think of numbers, and to work with them, that are utterly different from anything I do, and that I can barely even understand with help, much less identify with. If someone can present “eighteen” in an alien way, what can they do with a differentiable manifold?

    Like

    1. I understand what you are saying, but I believe that most of the mathematical notations and even the number system are now quite general. For example, when I came to Uk from Romania to study math I didn’t have any problems understanding the mathematical notations (they were exactly the same I used in Romania), while some of my friends doing subjects had some trubles adapting. This is why I like the quote ^_^

      Like

      1. I follow what you’re saying and I agree that the truths one learns mathematically are universal. And that probably makes it easier to step from one culture to another if one has mathematical points to rely on and use as things to learn from.

        But the selection of what truths to notice and to learn and to build on is culturally dependent and I don’t feel comfortable saying that’s universal.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. About that selection of truths your talking about, I agree with you. It doesn’t feel that universal. And with more I read about the history of numbers, for example, I agree more and more with you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

