January Favorites

Yey! We are at the period of month favorites, I start to enjoying writing this thing. Also, I have a new category from now on and I encourage you to help me complete it monthly. So, lets start:

1. Favorite Quote(1): as you have observed in my previous favorites posts, I find most of the quotes on Tumblr – which I check daily and I reblog or like different posts (and there are so many nice things I find there). This quote is from fractalmind, which also has a lot of other nice posts:

“[The universe] cannot be read until we have learnt the language and become familiar with the characters in which it is written. It is written in mathematical language, and the letters are triangles, circles and other geometrical figures, without which means it is humanly impossible to comprehend a single word.” by Galileo Galilei, Opere Il Saggiatore p. 171.

Moreover, Galileo Galilei is one of the most important scientist of the Renaissance. He is mostly known for astronomy related research, but he was also a great mathematician ( Galileo’s paradox – about infinite sets –  shows that there are as many perfect squares as there are whole numbers, even though most numbers are not perfect squares).

2. Favorite quote(2): surprise, surprise (I don’t have a favorite video, but I have another quote I like). You can find this quote in my post Abstract Maths:

Hilbert-Math-Quote

3. Favorite art and maths inspiration: I am extremely sure you already know which is going to be my favorite for this month (because i have written about it a while ago). He is Bernar Venet!!!! Incredible work:

4. Favorite number: I haven’t put this category for a long period, buttttt this month 2015 is my favorite number (obvious ^_^) . Never thought it could be so interesting to research facts about numbers, and because I have spend some time researching for the post 2015, the number has staid on my mind for longer.

New Image

By the way, would you like to see more facts about numbers every month?  Let me know in the comment box bellow ^_^

5. Favorites book(s): this is not really a 1st, but I have some book(s) that are not exactly mathematical. You will probably not expect me to recommend something like this, or to have them on my favorite list, but they have some incredible maths concepts there. I am talking about the trilogy The Hunger Games Trilogy (which consists of The Hunger Games, Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Book 2) and Mockingjay (part III of The Hunger Games Trilogy) ) – some statistics and decision theory (concerned with identifying the values, uncertainties and other things relevant in a given decision, its rationality, and the resulting optimal decision. It is closely related to the field of game theory; decision theory is concerned with the choices of individual agents whereas game theory is concerned with interactions of agents whose decisions affect each other.) I will make a post about this – be prepared ^_^ – extremely happy excited about it.

6. Favorite blogs/pages/people: as I have said on my Facebook Page, I want to make a special category here with social pages/blogs or anything that has to do with mathematics. I would like you to let me know in the comment box bellow of any of your favorite ones because I would totally love to see them, follow them and read what they post. So far, I have just a few from my old favorites:

  • GeoBunnies – nice way to explain geometrical concepts using bunnies ^_^ – how cute is that!! I totally recommend you and I like a lot their posts (I would love to use these ones in my future geometry class ^_^ )
  • Nebusresearch –  comics + maths (or other science topics) = awesome. The blog presents some nice comics and it keeps you up to date with funny awesome comics and moooooore…
  •  Calculus Humor –  as they say: ” A gathering place for Calculus-based humor and problems.”

These are my favorite things for January. Enjoy the month of February ^_^ Also, help me with advice for my presentation at the conference Tomorrow’s Mathematicians Today on 21st February (expect related posts). I have written about it in A Surprise.

Thank you for your help and support. Enjoy the Sunday. Thank you for reading. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,   Twitter  and  Instagram. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! ^_^ 

3 thoughts on “January Favorites

Add yours

    1. you are welcome, but I really like your blog – and I have spent a lot of time this month reading old posts and it deserved to be in my favorites 🙂
      Keep writing – it brings fun to my weeks ^_^

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

