A Surprise

The weekend is by the corner and I feel a little tired after this long week. This post is more like an update for me and you. Practical the second semester of my 4th year started and I feel so strange that this is my last semester as an undergraduate student. I feel strange: happy because I will graduate in June this year, but also sad because my proper studding period is ending and now a lot of changes are on the horizon. But until then I still have 5 more months to go ^_^

This post is mostly about me being completely surprised and overwhelmed this Wednesday. Someone in December (I don’t even remember exactly when) I have applied to a conference : Tomorrow’s Mathematicians Today. I wanted to present my dissertation on Cryptology, and I have completed their application process and wrote a short 200 words abstract about my paper. I know that if I have applied, it means I wanted to participate, but I never thought they would chose my paper. So, on Wednesday I have received an email saying:

Thank you very much for applying to give a talk at the upcoming Tomorrow’s Mathematicians today conference. We are delighted to say that your submission was successful and we would love for you to give your planned talk.

I am incredibly happy and excited for it, but also stressed and confused because I have never done something like this before. I have 30 minutes, of which 20 minutes should be the presentation and 10 minutes for questions. Moreover, I am allowed to use a blackboard together with the projector. So far I have decided that I will try to make an interesting PowerPoint presentation instead of using the blackboard.

Due to this, there are a couple of things that I would like to find from you:

  • Do you have any advice concerning what I should do with my nerves before the presentation? I am really shy when it comes to this kind of things?
  • Is there ok to just do a PowerPoint presentation? or I should also use the blackboard (considering that I have only 20 minutes)?
  • Do you have any tips in general, considering the presentation? Are there things I should really consider doing or not doing?

Thank you very very very much for your help and support. Enjoy the rest of the week.Thank you for reading. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,   Twitter  and  Instagram. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere! ^_^ 

7 thoughts on “A Surprise

Add yours

  1. Congratulations!

    I, personally, like writing on the board more, but having a Powerpoint presentation ready makes it easier to make sure you don’t fumble over forgetting any subtle points, and keeps you from spending a desperate and sweaty forty seconds scribbling an expression that it turns out nobody in the back can read anyway.

    My experience has been that a Powerpoint slide is best used to show the stuff that’s too complicated to write down live and direct; it doesn’t need to be read, or maybe even referred to past “and the formula there turns out to tell us there are exactly zero, three, or infinitely many solutions, which is why I turned to establishing an upper limit on the number of solutions”.

    I’d also aim to run a little short since at every conference I’ve ever seen, talks run long, and the person who lets things get back on schedule, or not so far behind schedule, is silently blessed by everyone there. This opens you to the risk of more people asking questions, so you may want to have answers for obvious questions on hand, or be comfortable saying “I hadn’t considered that and would appreciate the chance to think more about it”.

    The best thing I ever had for presentation nerves was a drama class I’d taken. It got me in the habit of being on stage and speaking and, through improv exercises, working out how to say things even if I have no idea what to say. This might not be something you have the time to do, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much for your help, it means a lot to me. I will take good care of my timing, and not over do it with reading formulas or things like this.
      But, about my nerves, I have never been in a drama class or properly presented something to more than 10 people. I will try to practice as much as I can and hope it will be fine. It is my 1st time, so it will be strange, but I am extremely excited. ^_^

      Like

      1. Well, I don’t know if this will help with nerves, but, can you remember who gave the most hilariously, catastrophically, disastrously ill-prepared and badly-run seminar or lecture you ever saw? No, I can’t either. The worst that happens if you do really badly is you have a story and a joke to share with your friends when hanging out afterwards.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

