News

I am happy to say that it is my first time I see a give-away that is maths related. I am so excited that I thought it would be such a good idea to share it with all of you.

The give-away is on a Tumblr page: Curiosa Mathematica, and it celebrates its 10,000 followers. I think it is absolutely incredible, I wish I could find more things like this. In case you are interested it, here is some more information about it directly from the page:

Last week my follower count hit 10.000. Which is simply amazing. When I started this blog one and a half years ago, I would never have believed it would grow to be this popular. So, let me start with a big THANK YOU to all my amazing followers!

To celebrate this milestone, I would like to organize some mathematical giveaway. First, what can you win? Well, a signed edition of this delightful new book of Matt Parker, Things to Make and Do in the Fourth Dimension! I bought the book for my student’s math club and enjoyed reading it.

Now, what are the contest rules?

  • To enter the competition, you must submit a cool math-related post. It can be anything: a nice picture, an original quote, a text post, a video, some unknown cool theorem, a mathematical joke, a book review, a photoset… Anything which belongs to the gallery of Curiosa Mathematica! You can enter submissions on my submit page (also when this giveaway is closed).
  • The winner will be chosen based on the most original post.
  • You must be following me (not really a restriction, I guess).
    I appreciate it if you share this post on your blog as well.
  • You may enter multiple submissions.
  • The contest is open to Saturday, January 31, 2015, 23:59.
  • The winner will be announced on Sunday, February 1, 2015.

The winner will then be contacted personally to share his/her personal data (in order to ship the book); of course no personal data will be published. Any submission, however, can be published, including the link to your blog. When anything is unclear, please contact me! Good luck!

There is still time for entries, so if you have a Tumblr account you can give it a try. We should encourage this kind of things. If anyone knows other blogs that do similar things let me know in the comment box bellow. 

Moreover, the book Things to Make and Do in the Fourth Dimension by Matt Parker promises lot of fun: maths games, puzzles (such as : cutting pizzas in new and fairer ways, or tying your shoes faster than ever before, saving literally seconds of your life). And in case this did not make you extra excited, Matt Parker appears in many videos from Numberphile, check these ones for a start (more on their YouTube page):

Hope you liked this short post. Enjoy the rest of the weekend. Thank you for reading. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,   Twitter  and  Instagram. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere!

One thought on “News

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

