2014 Favorites

I thought it would be a great idea to make a post with my favorites of 2014 with the most interesting and important things that I discovered this year from the maths domain. You could see a nice 2014 review made by WordPress, but I think this would be way more interesting. So here are my year favorites:

1. One of the things that I have spent a lot of time is Cryptology. Everything started from my week in Stuttgart this summer, and the small presentation of Cryptography given to us (you can read more in my post 3rd day in Stuttgart and Cryptography). From this I have also chosen to do my last year project at university in Cryptology, and everything is incredibly interesting for me. From the books I have been reading for this, I totally recommend ‘Elementary Number Theory and its Applications’ by K.H.RosenWhat do you think about Cryptology? I would like to know your opinion about it, and if you have any book recommendations I am ready for them. 

2. As a favorite person this year, I am completely sure you are expecting this. Maryam Mirzakhani is for me the most influential person of this year. She is both the first woman and the first Iranian honored with the Fields Medal, the most prestigious award in mathematics.The award committee cited her work in understanding the symmetry of curved surfaces. I am sure she will be a role model from now on, and that she will influence many little girls to follow their dreams.

3. After a living favorite person, I have a favorite historical figure. This is Evariste Galois. He is the one that put the base for one of my favorite topics in maths: group theory and rings & fields. I am completely astonished by how he discovered some of the most important theorems existing now, and also that he has done everything at such a small age. Also, how the society in that period (even the academic one) acted about his discoveries also made a huge impact on me. He will remain one of my favorite mathematicians ever.

4. Considering the books I have read this year, I cannot say one is my favorite because I love them all. But I would like to say that after I have wrote the post about my list of books, you came with so many recommendations for me that it will take a lot of time to read those, but my list is ready and I like putting more and more and ticking the ones I have read. Thus, if you want to see more about what books I am reading and how they influence me look in my favorites posts.

5.  When it comes to videos, as in previous years I still consider the channel Numberphile on YouTube to be the greatest. If you have any other recommendations let me know, I would love to see them. 

6. When it comes to games, I have played a lot this year, but I haven’t stayed faithful to all of them. But the one that made me angry at the begging and then it became my favorite thing and I am still playing from time to time is 2048. Now I find it very relaxing and I enjoy it 100%. What is your favorite game for this year (it doesn’t have to be maths related)? 

7. My favorite art related things this year are the ones related to food (if you check the category Art you will totally understand it). The way people combine food art and geometry it is amazing (Food Art, Minimal Food Geometry, The Geometry of Pasta, Sugar Cubes  and Combining Food and Formulas). And I cannot believe how much you can learn by observing their creations.

At first I thought that I will reach 10, but I didn’t so I think it could be a good idea to let you complete the list with 3 of your favorite things that you discovered in 2014.

thankyou

In the end, I would like to thank all of you that read my posts, or follow me on any of the other social networks. You made my year incredible and gave me the confidence to write more and spread my excitement about mathematics. Thank you very much for being there for me, for encouraging me, for read and commenting to my post all over the internet. Thank you very much.

Before I say ‘Speak to you next time’, I thought it is a good idea to let you read some other 2014 favorites found and enjoyed these days: Year 2014 in Review – The Cool and Funny Math Posts, Year 2014 in Review – The Most Popular Math Posts.

Hope you had a great New Years Eve. Thank you for reading and enjoy your day. You can find me on Facebook,  Tumblr,  Google+,   Twitter  and  Instagram. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

