Gift DIY

I have given you a lot of gift ideas for Christmas (Christmas Presents, for her, for him, for children), but I thought that it would be a good idea to do a DIY. Also, this is not a really maths related post, it is more me having fun making presents for my family. So hope you will enjoy the change (it won’t happen often).

DIY homemade personalised sharpie mug tutorial ~ My kids love hot chocolate in the winter. I'm thinking next year, I'll buy them some mugs, and let them decorate them. Yes?My idea came from the following photo I have found on Pinterest. And I thought it is such a great idea that I totally need to try it out. Also, I was happy to see I didn’t need to use some specific materials, and I could find everything laying in the house.

If you would like to make this a more maths related thing I totally recommend writing a quote or a famous equation. Just Google it and lots and lots of ideas will come ( The Mighty Google), next thing you need to do is copy it on the mug you want to customize. I haven’t done this for my mugs because it is a Christmas present for my family and to much maths can be overwhelming for them (listening to me talk about it every single time it is more than enough for them I am sure ^_^ ).

Before I show you the photos I took in the process, I have to tell you that it was a little adventurous for me. Firstly because just 30 minutes at 170 ‘C didn’t work for the mugs (maybe the sharpie was to old, or not that good), but the writing was extremely easy to remove and also I’ve burned myself in the process of taking them out of the oven (so place them with the handle facing the oven door, thus their are easier to handle). So, I had to write it again and left them in the oven for 45 minutes. Also I left them in the oven to cool (so they stayed there a couple of good hours).

Also, I didn’t want to give them empty and I have assembled some tea bags to put inside. I have chosen from what I have in house at the moment, so nothing fancy happened. Also you can put anything you want in the cups (hot chocolate,  candies, basically anything).

I believe it is the time to show you my cups:

IMG_20141218_134552 IMG_20141218_134827 IMG_20141219_000405_20141219013818178In case you are wondering what exactly is on the mugs, there is ‘Merry Christmas’ in Romanian (‘Craciun Fericit’) for my parents and ‘Merry X-mas’ for my sister.

And now comes my addition: tea bags.

IMG_20141218_140301 IMG_20141218_142516 IMG_20141219_000746_20141219013854514Hope you enjoyed this post and found it a little bit useful. Let me know what is your favorite DIY for x-mas. 

Enjoy your week before Christmas. Thank you for your support. You can find me on Facebook , TumblrGoogle+,  Twitter and Instagram. Thank you for reading. Don’t forget that maths is everywhere!

One thought on “Gift DIY

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

