Mathematics in ‘Spiral: The Bonds of Reasoning’

This couple of weeks I have been reading a lot of manga. I have liked some anime for a long time, but never had the courage to read manga. But for some reason I have downloaded an app on my tablet and started reading a lot of manga. I started with some that I’ve seen the anime long ago, and also tried some new ones. From this new ones I want to recommend Spiral: The Bonds of Reasoning‘ . 

Just to give all of you an idea about this manga, here is a small description of it:

World-class detective Kiyotaka Narumi’s last words prior to his sudden disappearance continue to haunt his younger brother, Ayumu. The cheeky 10th-grader becomes equally embroiled in the mystery of the doomed “Blade Children” when he is mistakenly named the prime suspect in a murder at his school. Led by Ayumu’s sister-in-law, Kiyotaka’s wife and fellow detective, Madoka, the investigation into the murder gives Ayumu a chance to clear his name. But in doing so, he uncovers ties to the Blade Children and also more questions than answers about who and what they are.

The description above doesn’t give full credit to the actual story, but gives a small glimpse of what it means. The most interesting parts are the detective stories and also all the battles between Ayumu and the Blade Children. What I really want to do in this post is present you some of mathematical things that appear.

1. Using mathematics, especially geometry, to describe the criminal from what the victim looks like:

New Imagefh

I never totally thought about this, even if I watched some detective movies. Also this was the first time I saw some mathematics applied to criminalistics. I new that by using physics and chemistry, there is mathematics involved, but never completely understand how mathematics can be helpful in this situation. If you know anything more about this, or you can recommend any books of movies that explain more on this topic let me know. ^_^ 

2. Magic squares:

New Imagedg

From my point of view magic squares are a very good way to train your mind and understand more about the properties of numbers. They are good exercises for any type of students. And it was incredible to find out a Chinese story about them, this shows how much importance they had in our history.

3. Counting using combinatorics :

It was nice to see a little bit of combinatorics in the process to difuse a bomb. And just to give you an idea of what combinatorics:

“Combinatorics is a branch of mathematics concerning the study of finite or countable discrete structures. Aspects of New Imagetrwcombinatorics include counting the structures of a given kind and size, deciding when certain criteria can be met, and constructing and analyzing objects meeting the criteria, finding “largest”, “smallest”, or “optimal” objects, and studying combinatorial structures arising in an algebraic context, or applying algebraic techniques to combinatorial problems. Moreover, combinatorial problems arise in many areas of pure mathematics, notably in algebra, probability theory, topology, and geometry, and combinatorics also has many applications in mathematical optimization, computer science, and many other areas.”

As a total, the story had a lot of logic spread and also some nice genetics and biology facts. It was relaxing and extremely interesting to read it. I was the kind of story that I wanted to read extra things to understand completely every trick used.

New Imagerdh

Let me know if you want to see more posts like this one. Also, if you have other books or manga that have mathematics spread in it tell me in the comment box bellow and I will give them a try.

As you have observed, now I have a sort of time-table: Sunday, Wednesday and Friday. Let me know if you would like to see more or if you believe the days are ok. Hard work but I start to like it more and more. Any feedback is appreciated so use the like and share buttons! And, because now I try to post more let me know what you would like to see more in the comment box bellow!

Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page, also my new Twitter and  Instagram. Thank you for reading and enjoy your day. Have a great weekend.

 

3 thoughts on “Mathematics in ‘Spiral: The Bonds of Reasoning’

Add yours

  1. Not a strictly educational series, but the show Numb3rs centers around using math for criminology. My math background is in pure rather than applied, but it looked good as far as I could tell. I remember it being pretty entertaining too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

