Incredible Floor ^_^

The internet is a great way to find incredible things if you want to look for them. Just yesterday I was looking for inspiration and ideas and I found this:

A huge video game shop in Paris (Fnac at La Defense). For a lot of reasons this is incredible. This carpet gives you the illusion that it manipulates the space time continuum.  In reality, the carpet doesn’t bend the fabric of space, its just like that and its safe to walk on. In reality, the carpet doesn’t bend the fabric of space, its just like that and its safe to walk on. Another thing is that it looks like this from a specific point; it doesn’t give the same illusion everywhere in the shop.

But what I totally like about this is how it can represent spacetime curvature described in general relativity (it seems like this is a tribute to general relativity and also an incredible way to see and understand the theory better). If I give you the definition of  spacetime theory used in physics (theories such as general relativity) would just make your heard explode, but giving a representation like this one will totally make more sense. For the ones of you that want to know more I recommend as a start the Wikipedia page, which explains more about this concept:

In physics, spacetime (also space–time, space time or space–time continuum) is any mathematical model that combines spaceand time into a single interwoven continuum. The spacetime of our universe is usually interpreted from a Euclidean space perspective, which regards space as consisting of three dimensions, and time as consisting of one dimension, the “fourth dimension“. By combining space and time into a single manifold called Minkowski space, physicists have significantly simplified a large number of physical theories, as well as described in a more uniform way the workings of the universe at both the supergalacticand subatomic levels.

Moreover, to understand more about this concept I recommend a movie: Interstellar (2014). This is an incredible movie, the actors play awesome; I enjoyed every single second of it. But this movie also presents the time-paradox most of us have heard about. If you have seen Interstellar let me know what you think about the movie in the comment box bellow. 

And now back to the shop that started this discussion, here are some more photos :

 

Also, as you could observe for the past weeks, I am trying to post once every 2 days, and I hope you enjoy it as much as me. Also, now I have a sort of time-table: Sunday, Wednesday and Friday. Let me know if you would like to see more or if you believe the days are ok. Hard work but I start to like it more and more. Any feedback is appreciated so use the like and share buttons! And, because now I try to post more let me know what you would like to see more in the comment box bellow!

Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page, also my new Twitter and  Instagram. Thank you for reading and enjoy your day. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

