October Favorites

October has finished, yesterday Halloween went quite chill for me, I did not do something specific for it (dressed a little with a friend and a good anime, and the day finished). Also yesterday was the last day for Celebrate Mathematicians in October, and I was so sad that this project ended. I believe this is the most enjoying project I had so far. I know I still need a couple of posts about the last mathematicians, but the post will come next week for sure. Also let me know in the comments bellow if you would like to see more events/projects like this one (it was funn fuun fun for me and I would love to do other things like this). Also let me know if it would be a good idea to write like a small (more fancy and interacting) Conclusion – presentation about this. Because of this event I will start my October Favorites with some tops.

1. Top 10 mathematicians. (I first wanted to do top 5, but there were a lot of mathematicians I believe they impressed me). This top is about the mathematicians that impressed me a lot (I had to read a lot for this and I found out a lot of interesting things about them) and I would like to read more about their life. If you can recommend books or articles leave them in the comment box bellow:

  • Evariste Galois  (his life and genius was what made me start this event and I still believe that it’s incredible to read what he went through and also how his work became important and valuable after his death; I’ve written an article just for me that you can read here);
  • Abraham Nemeth ( his hard work to help blind people understand and read math impressed me, I believe he incredible much for mathematics by developing the Nemeth Braille Code for Mathematics and Science Notation; incredible and worth reading about him);
  • Luigi Guido Grandi ( the process by which he understood a series by just using some word-problem/representation of it, without properly knowing what a ‘series’ is, just incredible; so good intuition);
  • Claude Gaspard Bachet de Méziriac (for working at translating books mathematical books from Greek to Latin, books that later became important for other mathematicians);
  • Alexander Osipovich Gelfond (for his work on transcendental numbers, which I am studding in depth just now);
  • Raúl Arturo Chávez Sarmiento (I was always impressed by children that did extremely good and he is the second youngest medalist in International Mathematical Olympiad history; just incredible);
  • Pierre François Verhulst (for his work on the model of population growth, which is very interesting and just makes you think differently about this over-populating problem we might experience on Earth);
  • Karl Theodor Wilhelm Weierstrass ( he left university without a degree and studding alone mathematics and he is known as ‘the father of analysis’; I could see hard work and devotion in his story);
  • Abraham Wald (I’ve read more about him because he was born in Cluj (in Romania, my home-country) and he did his math studies in Romania; obviously it made me happy to have him on my list);
  • Father Magnus J. Wenninger (for his hard work and determination to do the 75 uniform polyhedral – beautiful art).

And so my top 10 is finished, obviously this is a personal top, so feel free to tell me which is your top 10 (or top 5) mathematicians of this month.

Now going back to my normal Favorites posts. Here comes 2. my favorite quote:

10360459_921428657886205_1765739735990124446_n

3. My favorite video is: 

This video inspired me to write this post: Math is Invented or Discovered?, which gave you all a lot of think about and I had very good reply from all of you. I am still waiting for more opinions and this one (I would like to write another post on the same topic, but with your own opinions). I got incredible wonderful and good opinions and I enjoyed talking with all of you about it.

4. My favorite books – this is the 1st time I have 2 books and this is because I use them for my project (in my last year of university). Let me know if you want to know more about my project. So without further talking, the books are: “Decrypted Secrects – Methods and Maxims of Cryptology” by F.L.Bauer and  ‘Elementary Number Theory and its Applications’ by Kenneth H. Rosen.

10710959_916740428355028_1759518310638827970_n

Any feedback is appreciated so use the like and share buttons and also comment below with your favorites, too.

Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page and also my new Twitter (I am really new to the last 2 things, so bare with me if you can see stupid mistakes there) and  Instagram. Thank you for reading and enjoy your day. Thanks for support and understanding. Also thank you for following me!! ^_^

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

