Pokemon Fractals

If you are following my Facebook page, you probably already know my love for Fractals. The math behind these is not as easy as expected, but the result is extremely beautiful. In case you don’t know what a fractal is here is a small definition (from Wikipedia):

A fractal is a natural phenomenon or a mathematical set that exhibits a repeating pattern that displays at every scale. If the replication is exactly the same at every scale, it is called a self-similar pattern. Fractals can also be nearly the same at different levels. Fractals also includes the idea of a detailed pattern that repeats itself.

Just a couple of weeks ago I found an interesting blog on Tumblr called Pokemon Fractals. I liked the blog immediately! This just reminded me of my childhood when I was waking up at 8am every Saturday and Sunday just to see this cartoon. And now to see it combined with this new, wonderful and complicated mathematics (geometry) fact it melted my heart.  Everyday the owner posts some wonderful fractal representation of Pokemons. Here are a couple of the images (my favorite ones so far) :

tumblr_ncy18hlyQB1tfc7x4o1_1280  tumblr_n973mmMWuj1tfc7x4o1_1280 tumblr_nbrfv2q6ZA1tfc7x4o1_1280 tumblr_nbsvxuFP021tfc7x4o1_1280 tumblr_nbwux4aEwQ1tfc7x4o1_1280 tumblr_n7xv3xQD291tfc7x4o1_1280

To make everything clear here are the artist’s words, to understand more about these fractals :

I make all of the art that appears on this blog unless it’s a picture from a game map or something.  Keep in mind, though, I modify art that already exists (Global Link, Sugimori, etc.).  So, sure, I am creating something original, but the foundation was built by someone else.  All of the fractals are my own, and I will never reblog art from other people.  It’s not because I don’t like other’s work, it’s just that I want to inject new art to Pokéfans that they haven’t quite seen before.

Hope you liked this end of week/relaxing post. Any feedback is appreciated so use the like and share buttons!

Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page and also my new Twitter (I am really new to the last 2 things, so bare with me if you see stupid mistakes there) and  Instagram. Thank you for reading and enjoy your day. Have a great weekend.

One thought on “Pokemon Fractals

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

