September Favorites

So, it is time for September Favorites (or maybe kind of late of it in a way). As you probably know I had a long September, and also the university just started a couple of weeks and it was a little chaotic with my project (last year of uni), but things are ok now, so I can properly relax and organize my things. Unfortunately, because of these events I did not have a lot of time to properly think about math in a normal way. (As you could also see on the blog, I posted more about books (Book Bucket Challenge), movies (Lucy (2014) and Math Movies), about my job ( at TechFest) and some posts about my holiday (Holiday part 1 and Holiday part 2). Hope this month I will revise my list of posts and do some of the ones that staid there for a long time… I have so many ideas and so little time, but I will do my best. But lets get started with September favorites….

1. Quote of the month. This is a thing I just found on the internet in a day when I was just relaxing with a cup of cherry&cinnamon tea:

The real question is not ‘what’s true’, but ‘what works.’ Geometries are tools, designed by humans, to help us deal with our world. Like any other tools, some are suitable for one job, some for another. If you are a builder, a surveyor, or a do-it-yourself carpenter, then Euclidean geometry is by far the simplest to use; it works well for such things. If you are an astronomer studying distant galaxies, you might prefer Riemannian geometry; it works better than Euclidean geometry for such things. If you are a theoretical physicist, Lobachevskian geometry might work better for you than either of the others. In any case, a geometry is a tool to be chosen by the worker, not a fixed feature of the job site. ( by William Berlinghoff and Fernando Gouvea on non-Euclidean geometries in “Math Through the Ages”) 

I thought it just represented in such a nice and precise way the many types of geometry that exist there. And also in how many ways it is used. It was really nice to see how useful these things are, and it just gave me the feeling that math (geometry) is incredible powerful in many domains.

2. Favorite game. For this one I have in fact 2 favorites. This month I just needed a lot of things to relax me so I tried a couple of games. First of the is Game about Squares and Dots ( on Google Play). It is a fun way to use your logic, plan moves in advance and test your patience. Here is a photo from their presentation (just to make an idea of it):

Game about Squares & Dots - screenshot

And there is also a YouTube video with solutions for the first a couple of levels, but don’t cheat much. It is fun do it yourself, and the first ones are not that hard either.

Another game is Paperama – a fun origami game. I also liked origami, but never properly done anything. It was not a popular thing for my friends when I was little, so never tried it. But this game just made me think that I should totally start doing more proper origami. Also this game made me think about some math involved and I started reading a little about this (don’t know much yet, but there might be a post about it in the future). Here is a photo from their presentation:

3. Fractals of the month. Recently I started searching fractals again and I found some so cute things and I started to use them everywhere (phone background, table background, my computer has a huge folder full of them). I believe that this fractal art is evolving so much and it is just incredibly beautiful. And here are some of my favorite ones:

d46a22777aa227b2b04a822b74b46aa2 Fractal_Bird_by_minimoo64images Fractal_Butterfly_2_by_minimoo64

4. Favorite book. This time, as I did in August Favorites, I have a fiction book. But I have found so much math in it that it became awesome. It is “Decipher” by Stel Pavlou. It is like end of the world science novel. Incredible written with a lot of scientific things in it. It just made me search for a lot of things read there, just to find out more about it. And also I am always very impressed by a novel that has 6 pages of Bibliography for their scientific things. You can find out more about it on Goodreads.

IMG_20141003_221719

Just for the math-curious people there here are some of things the book mentions:

  • some little history of Babylonians and Egyptians and what math they knew;
  • the Hopf bifurcation (named after the German mathematician that discovered it Eberhard Hopf), which is about oscillations;
  • something more about base 10, 12, 16 and obviously base 60;
  • a nice belief about numbers : “The thing about numbers was they were independent of people. Aliens would be able to count in the same way. Numbers were embeded in the fabric of space and time. Two was always going to be two, even if another culture gave it another name.”  (page 435);
  • Fibonacci numbers;
  • about patterns there is a quote from the book “Nature’s Numbers” by Ian Stewart: “We live in a universe of patterns. Every night the stars move in circles across the sky. The seasons cycle at yearly intervals. No two snowflakes are ever exactly the same, but they all have sixfold symmetry. Tigers and zebras are covered in patterns of stripes; leopards and hyenas are covered in patterns of spots. Intricate trains of waves march across ocean; very similar trains of sand dunes march across the desert… By using mathematics… we have discovered a great secret: nature’s patterns are not just there to be admired, they are vital clues to the rules that govern natural processes.”.

Hope you liked this post, and if you would like to see more let me know. Any feedback is appreciated so use the like and share buttons and also comment below with your favorites, too. Also let me know some of your favorite math or science things you have done in September.

Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page and also my new Twitter (I am really new to the last 2 things, so bare with me if you can see stupid mistakes there) and  Instagram. Also do not forget about the event for October Celebrate Mathematicians that you can find almost everywhere (for more info check the post 100 Followers). Thank you for reading and enjoy your day. Thanks for support and understanding. Also thank you for following me!! ^_^

One thought on “September Favorites

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

