Lucy (2014)

Firstly, I am very sorry for not writing this week at all. It is because university just started for me, and I had a lot of things to do and prepare for it. Also working as a Festival Assistant at TechFest transformed my week a little (if you want to know more about my experience with them like this post or comment bellow).

Secondly, just one hour ago I was at the cinema for LucyI don’t want to say anything about the plot… You just have to see it to understand. Here is the trailer if you want to make an idea:

For me it was a perfect movie after this week. It opened my mind to a lot of questions and I like this thing. I prefer to see a movie and then start checking and rechecking to see what is/can be true and what is pure fantasy. I love what this movie did to my mind for the moment. So obviously I came home and started Googling things. I want to say that mathematics is involved in the movie at some point, it wasn’t exactly what I wanted to see about it, but it is still there. Unfortunately, there is a little mistake there, and I could spot it in that moment, but I wanted to find out more. Here is just a quote from Movie review: Lucy.

Mathematicians and Physicists Already Proved 1+1 Doesn’t Always Equal 2

The movie Lucy must give current day mathematicians and physicists more credit.

“1+1” doesn’t always equal two. Every mathematician and scientist knows this fact. However in the movie, the main character attempts to imply that mathematicians are limited by this concept and their math is only as useful as its own measurement system. This statement is absolutely 100% false. In reality, mathematicians and physicist are the ones who have proved higher dimensions exist, namely in two branches of mathematics, Topology and Chaos Theory. But humanity has yet to understand its practical results.

Take for example the branch of math called Topology. This study centers itself on explaining spaces that can and cannot be measured, like Space in other galaxies. The study shows that not all things in existence can be measured. Further, another branch of mathematics called Chaos Theory explains both higher and lower infinitesimal sub-dimensions. At the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Chaos Theory helped reveal “super-highways” in Space for traveling to Mars faster. Scientists also use it to explain the instantaneous decision-making moments where “all hell can break loose” – like why a tornado hits one home and not another; why brush fires travel in one direction and not another; even why someone’s brain subconsciously chooses a certain mate over another.

According to Albert Einstein’s Theory of Relativity, time is subjective. In the same way that a large ball placed on an elasticated cloth stretches the fabric and causes it to sag, so do planets and stars warp space-time. Chaos Theory and Topology are used to understand systems that seem pattern-less. We are seeing that the brain and the universe are mirroring each other through Chaos Theory. Shockingly similar to the human brain, our Solar System is identically composed of 10% luminous matter, and 90% of an unknown substance called dark matter with unknown functions — where time and space are appearing not always predictable. In short, mathematics is an every-changing human language depicting changing patterns in the universe. And the findings are extrapolated to higher dimensions (called non-metric spaces) where 1+1 doesn’t equal 2. And frankly, this sum is sometimes never defined.

New Imagewte

Don’t misunderstand what I want to say by this. I like the movie and I will definitely watch it again. The actors did an incredible job and I totally advice you to give it a try.

Hope you liked this post, and if you would like to know more email me at LThMathematics@gmail.com  Any feedback is appreciated so use the like and share buttons and also comment below with any other movies you are waiting to see in the future.

Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page and also my new Twitter (I am really new to the last 2 things, so bare with me if you see stupid mistakes there) and  Instagram. Thank you for reading and enjoy your day. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

