The Book Bucket Challenge

This idea came from a thing that is now really famous on Facebook and it is called #TheBookBucketChallenge. This is about making a list of 10 books that influenced you, that changed your way of thinking, that are the best for you or maybe the worst (depending on how you want it). I believe it is a great thing and I thought that I should do it for you. So here are the books that influenced me, mathematical speaking of course. They showed me the beauty of math, the importance of it, and made me love it.

1.’The elephant in the classroom : helping children learn and love maths’ by Jo Boaler
2.’Alex’s Adventures in Numberland’ by Alex Bellos
3.’What Counts: How Every Brain is Hardwired for Math’ by Brian Butterworth
4.’The Science of Secrecy – The secret history of codes and codebreaking’ by Simon Singh
5.’Numbers without End’ by Cornelius Lanczos
6.’What Is Mathematics? An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods’ by Ian Stewart, Herbert Robbins, Richard Courant
7.’It Must Be Beautiful: Great Equations of Modern Science’ edited by Graham Farmelo
8.’The Language of Mathematics – Making the Invisible Visible’
by Keith Devlin
9.’Mathematical Fallacies and Paradoxes’
and my a childhood book: 10.’Chasing Vermeer’ by Blue Balliett

Now I nominate everyone that reads this to post bellow (in the comment box) their 10 books, or maybe ONE great one. It will make a huge difference for me to read your ideas, and you will also give me more things to read for the future. The library is close by and I am a totally bookworm, so give me books.

Hope you liked this post, and if you would like to know more email me at LThMathematics@gmail.com . Any feedback is appreciated so use the like and share buttons and also comment below with your favorites.

Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page and also my new Twitter (I am really new to the last 2 things, so bare with me if you see stupid mistakes there) and  Instagram. Thank you for reading and enjoy your day.

6 thoughts on “The Book Bucket Challenge

Add yours

  1. Hi, Thanks for your list (though I don’t get the need for the ‘bucket’ in the name – sure, ‘ice bucket’, but this is a book challenge – no bucket!).
    I have to say the big ones for me (though I can’t think of 10) are:
    – Flatland by Edwin Abbott Abbott
    – Figments of Reality by Ian Stewart and Jack Cohen (Love Ian Stewart!)
    – The Hacker Ethic by Pekka Himanen
    – The History of Western Philosophy by Bertrand Russell
    – A Mathematical Bridge by Stephen Fletcher Hewson

    And my fave novels (for now) are:
    – East of Eden by John Steinbeck (nothing to do with Maths, but so incredibly written!)
    – Dune by Frank Herbert (awesome!)
    – Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
    – Cryptonomicon by Neil Stephenson
    – Quicksilver by Neil Stephenson

    If I may, I would like to orient you to my own website where I am thoroughly enjoying a melange of mathematics and philosophy in a quest for the fundamental nature of our Reality, and hope you might find it intellectually intriguing:
    http://taomath.org
    Please read, comment, disagree or ask questions – I need challenging! 😉 Many thanks and kind regards,

    Thomas

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your list… I have to agree with you that Bucket doesn’t feel logic there, but I just took the idea from Facebook.
      I will put those books on my lists of books to check. A lot of people have recommended ‘Flatland’ and it seems a really interesting book, so I believe it will be my first thing to check.
      Also, I have to say ‘East of Eden’ and ‘Dune’ are also really great, especially ‘Dune’ ( a great series, and also all the other related books).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

