June Favorites

I know that it is almost the middle of July, but believe me that the beginning of this month was a lot harder for me (not complicated, but like my free time has just been divided by 2, which was a little harder to cope with, but you will see some great results later, hope so). Thank you very much for all your patience. So with no further comments, lets go to June Favorites.

This month I was more into nature and food ( I am in holiday from university), so lets start with my favorite quote :

“Mathematics is the language with which God has written the universe” by Galileo Galilei

I knew this quote from way back, but I used it so much this month, and also I had time to look around more and discuss some astronomy with a friend, and just had time surfing the internet more. I was stuck by how much math one can find in nature and in everything that surrounds us. And also about the fact that we also use it more in our society, and it is the base of our modern technology, but everything comes from nature, from the universe around us.

On the same teem, my favorite number is the golden ratio. I have a lot of posts on this blog about this ratio : Golden RatioNature and Golden Ratio; and Golden Ratio(2).

ketsopoulos-fig-1-e1315269455991

Next is my favorite game, and unfortunately I need to say that this will surely be my obsession for all summer. So I am pretty sure you know what I mean by now: 2048. I will play more and more in the future. The internet is full of videos and articles about this game now, and I feel terrible that I did not start to play it earlier, but maybe it is good that I found it after my exams.

New Skitchkchj

That is a screenshot from my first day of playing, I can assure you that I am not not good, but I am playing it constantly and I enjoy it a lot, even if I don’t have 2048 yet. Congratulations for everyone that got it fast. For this game I totally recommend this post: The addictive mathematics of the 2048 tile game, and you can find a lot of YouTube posts about the game, too.

Going to books… ‘Numbers without End’ by Cornelius Lanczos was a good choice for me. It is easy to read, gives you nice basic information about a lot of mathematical fields and it talks about some of the history behind some concepts. I enjoyed reading it and really recommend it to anyone how wants to read some math in their holiday, but just something light and refreshing.

New Imagevxc

Just to end this post I have my favorite video:

And also, because this is my first time doing this thing, please take a look at a video I made and let me know if you like it in the comment box below. Bare in mind that I have never done something like that and it took a lot of time, so respect for everyone that knows how to do this kind of things:

Hope you liked this post, and if you would like to see more let me know. Any feedback is appreciated so use the like and share buttons and also comment below with your favorites, too.

Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page and also my new Twitter (I am really new to the last 2 things, so bare with me if you can see stupid mistakes there) and  Instagram.Thank you for reading and enjoy your day.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

