April Favorites

This is a new section, I just thought that it should be such a fun thing to do. I am sure you already know the idea of this kind of posts, and hope you will enjoy this one. Because this is my first one I can cheat a little and also put some of my old favorites, but I will try to be brief.

First of all I will start with my favorite math quote:

Life is good for only two things, discovering mathematics and teaching mathematics. (by Simeon Denis Poisson) 

This quote transformed the way I see my future and it transformed my way of thinking. You can read more about my opinion on teaching and interesting techniques here, and also if you would like to read what changed my way of thinking about my future here.

Now my favorite number this month is ZERO. Maybe you will consider that this is a little lame from my side, but if you think deeper about it, and also I was more into a philosophy and deep thinking this month, you will understand.

10156114_800663123296093_8457001602028829129_n

Next, my favorite math game is (an old favorite, of course… I’m cheating a little, you remember? ) is Sudoku. This is my favorite game, and I play it every single day at least once. It helps me relax and at the same time is improves my focusing process. (I always play it with timer). I am sure that everyone knows what Sudoku is about, but if you are new to this game check this (I am sure you will love it).

I do not promise that every month I will have a favorite book, but this month is one of the luckiest one. My favorite book is It Must be Beautiful: Great Equations of Modern Science edited by Graham Farmelo. It is a great book that helped me understand a little more some of the most famous equations and their history. Here is a small description:

The equation has come to embody the mystery and terror of modern science. It Must Be Beautiful is a wide-ranging collection of writings that lift the lid on some of the most influential — and notorious — equations of all time. This book brings together gifted scientists and writers, including Nobel Prize winners, to interpret the scientific work of the 20th century and place it in historical perspective. Each essay presents the essence of an equation, explains why it is fundamental, defines its scope and limitations, and finally states its importance in the wider intellectual and popular culture.

Last but not least, my favorite math-related video is…….

Hope you liked this post, and if you would like to see more let me know. Any feedback is appreciated so use the like and share buttons and also comment below with your favorites, too.

Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page and also my new Twitter (I am really new to the last 2 things, so bare with me if you can see stupid mistakes there) and  Instagram.Thank you for reading and enjoy your day.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

