A trip

I have decided to present some of my daily activities in which I use a lot of math. This idea came from the fact that I have always considered that we need math every single day. Also because in our society math is everywhere. So I hope you will enjoy reading this and find it useful.

Firstly I start with a trip we (me and my friend) made last Monday. We wanted to go to Edinburgh for a long time, so finally we found time to do it. ( Let me know in the comments bellow if you want to see more pictures) So, I will explain where we have used some maths in our nice trip.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. We started to calculate when exactly we are arriving in Edinburgh, how much it will take from the bus station to Edinburgh Zoo, how much the Zoo tour will last, how much it will take from the Zoo to Edinburgh Castle, how long is the Castle tour and so on. So we really made a lot of calculations and approximations because we didn’t have too much time, but we wanted to see as many things as possible. Doing all these calculations and preparations we even realized that we have enough time to take part in an extra event that was taking place at the Castle. And everything because we used math. 
  2. Visiting Edinburgh Castle or Edinburgh Zoo really takes a lot of time if you don’t do it using some pattern or thinking 5 minutes about which is the more economical way to do it. So we kind of used a little graph theory to arrange a path of the Castle/Zoo in order to see everything in a short period of time. Instead of going 1 – 2 – 3 – … on the map, we found another way that was better for us, as in the picture bellow with the Castle. And everything because we used math. 

New Imagebgfn

I hope you liked this one. I will try to post something like this every week, trying to find every piece of math that we use on a daily basic. If you want to see more pictures from Edinburgh let me know in the comments bellow.

Thank you and have a nice day. Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page and also my new Twitter (I am really new to the last 2 things, so bare with me if you can see stupid mistakes there) and  Instagram.

2 thoughts on “A trip

Add yours

    1. Well, I see that in the first part you believe that I used physics, but in fact I did not. Because I didn’t calculate distances or anything else. The only thing that I did was: the bus arrives at 10:00, 20 minutes to the Zoo, 3 hours at the Zoo, so I figured it out that at 13:20 I was leaving the Zoo…
      I don’t think all these additions are in fact physics, sorry.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

