Do we really understand?

Nowadays there are a lot of pictures everywhere on the internet and sometimes we don’t understand what they are saying. We don’t understand the jokes or we misunderstand their meaning. So I will try to explain some of the mathematics pics found on the internet.  I will try to post as frequent as possible.

Anxiety

Anxiety is an unpleasant state of inner turmoil, often accompanied by nervous behavior, such as pacing back and forth, somatic complaints and rumination. It is the subjectively unpleasant feelings of dread over something unlikely to happen, such as the feeling of imminent death. Anxiety is not the same as fear, which is felt about something realistically intimidating or dangerous and is an appropriate response to a perceived threat;[4]anxiety is a feeling of fear, worry, and uneasiness, usually generalized and unfocused as an overreaction to a situation that is only subjectively seen as menacing. It is often accompanied by restlessness, fatigue, problems in concentration, and muscular tension. Anxiety is not considered to be a normal reaction to a perceived stressor although many feel it occasionally. When anxiety becomes overwhelming and distressing to the sufferer, it may fall under the psychiatric diagnosis of anxiety disorder.

600640_139117166282426_1326121050_n

Through my life I have met a lot of people that totally hated this subject, that feared it, were stressed by it, or felt anxiety over it. The problem was that  I thought  this is a little stupid and most of the time me or some of my friends  believed that it was the teacher’s fault, but in fact it is not like that. We were making a big mistake.

It was really proved that ‘anxiety over maths lights up the same brain areas as physical pain’ which it explains a lot of things. And this gives another question that I am thinking more in the last time: Is mathematical thinking born or not?

And besides all of this did you know about the existence of dyscalculia?? Well conform Wikipedia this is:

Dyscalculia is difficulty in learning or comprehending arithmetic, such as difficulty in understanding numbers, learning how to manipulate numbers, and learning math facts. It is generally seen as a specific developmental disorder like dyslexia

I will have a different post just about dyscalculia in the near future, because this is an important fact that not everyone knows about.

So, what do you think about this?

Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page and also my new Twitter (I am really new to the last 2 things, so bare with me if you can see stupid mistakes there) and  Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Do we really understand?

Add yours

  1. I tutored math for long enough to realize it’s all a state of mind. I feel like I’ve convinced myself I’m a problem solver and so I force myself into solving problems. I feel like, especially in America, it’s almost “Cool” to say you’re bad at math. And it breaks my heart. 😦 I think math is in everything and we present it in the wrong light. Thanks for your post!

    Like

    1. I am very glad to see that you like my post. More will come, I promise. I decided to discuss some pictures/photos everyone can find on the internet about this things.
      And also, this blog started from the problem that you mentioned. In fact my ‘dream’ is to change people’s ideas about math and to show them that math is everywhere around us and our society will be zero if for math.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

